Print Page


Hoop Dreams Become Reality For 2019 State Basketball Champions!!

March 16, 2019 09:50 PM
A male player drives the lane and tries to avoid the defender's block in a 2018 State Final game.

     Players and coaches dream of getting to the State Tournament and winning a state title.  For eight fortunate teams, those dreams became a thrilling reality.  Several teams successfully defended their 2018 titles, while several others hoisted the championship trophy for the first time.  Select the links below to view the State Championship results, official game stats, tournament Media Guides, and the complete brackets for each gender and classification.

     The Lake Clifton Boys successfully defended their Class 1A title, the sixth for their program while on the Girls side, Pikesville brought home their first state crown.  The River Hill Girls won their second crown in Class 2A and Patterson grabbed their third Boys state basketball championship.  In Class 3A, the Baltimore Polytechnic Boys successfully defended last year's title as they earned their third state championship, all consecutive while the Frederick Girls also executed a three-peat for their fourth overall state crown.  The Charles H. Flowers Girls enjoyed the thrill of being a first time champion in Class 4A followed by the Boys of Eleanor Roosevelt taking home the Class 4A state champ trophy for a fourth time.  In addition, the jack Willard Boys Tournament Sportsmanship Award went to Thomas Stone HS and the Mildred H. Murray Girls Tournament Sportsmanship Award went to Long Reach HS.  Congratulations to both of those teams, coaches, and fans for showing others how it is done!  Don't forget that you can relive every exciting shot, dibble, and pass of the Finals on the NFHS Network.  Watch on-demand for free or purchase DVD's within 72 hours of the actual games.

     The MPSSAA extends congratulations to all of the schools, coaches, student-athletes, and officials that participated in this year's State Semifinal and Final games.  Our sincerest gratitude to the State Basketball Committees, especially Boys Committee Director Earl Hawkins, Boys Tournament Director Jeff Sullivan, Girls Committee Director Lynette Mitzel, and Girls Tournament Director Diane George for another outstanding job of preparation and planning leading up to this culminating event.  Once again, we cannot thank the University of Maryland-College Park and Towson University's Athletic Departments and their top-notch staffs enough for their hospitality, cooperation, and support in working with us to provide first class facilities for our State Championships at Xfinity Center and SECU Arena respectively.  And last but not least, thank you fans for your support. Hope to see you on the hardwood again next winter!

Back to news