Print Page


Champs Battle To Final Whistle

     Bringing home a state field hockey title was no easy task on Saturday as eight teams dueled on the turf at Washington College until the final whistle blew.  Several close finishes left the game outcome in the balance until time ran out.  Click on the link above to access the complete results for each classification. (updated 11/10/13, 8:45 AM)

     Class 4A jumpstarted the day as Severna Park hauled in their 21st state crown by virtue of their win over a talented Wootton team, 4-1.  Class 1A followed with a nail-biter as North Carroll fought off Patterson Mill  to win 3-2 in the first overtime period.  This was North Carroll's second title ever but their first since 1977.  The Class 2A match-up pitted Hereford against newcomer Century, but Century never trailed in bringing home their first championship trophy by a score of 2-0.  The final game of the day was the hard fought Class 3A title game where C.Milton Wright hoisted the champs trophy for the first time by edging Mt. Hebron, 3-2.  In addition, Dulaney HS was voted as the recipient of the Tournament Sportsmanship Award.  Don't forget that you can relive every exciting tournament moment with unlimited free viewing and purchase DVD's within days of the original contests on the MPSSAA Network.

     Many thanks to our State Field Hockey Committee and all of the tournament workers for another successful event. Our gratitude goes out to Washington College and their Athletic Department staff, especially Head Field  Hockey coach Rachel Boyle and her team for their generosity and support in holding our championships at their beautiful facility.  Congratulations to all for another fabulous season and we will look forward to an even better one next year!

Back to news