Print Page


The 50th Anniversary of Title IX - June 23, 2022 - Edition I

MPSSAA Title IX at 50 Content

Edition I - Pre-1972 Title IX Passage in Maryland   

“No person in the United States shall on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any educational program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance.”

Title IX of the Civil Rights Act was signed into law by President Nixon on June 23rd, 1972. As we embark on the 50th year anniversary, the MPSSAA would like to recognize the history and the contributions of those who have and continue to advocate for female student-athletes.

The MPSSAA is forever indebted to these individuals, pioneers, trailblazers, and moments of magnitude that stretch into Maryland’s history, long before Title IX was enacted.  Leading up to the 50th Anniversary, the MPSSAA will be posting numerous artifacts and stories on the contributions and legacy of Marylanders who have paved the way for increased participation.  

The first edition in a series of Title IX information will look at the achievements, work and progress prior to the passage of Title IX. 

Prior to Title IX passage (Pre 1972) – Maryland sports history for girls and women’s sports dates well before the passage of Title IX.  Maryland has a rich history of trailblazers operating the Maryland Division of Girls and Women’s Sports (DGWS).  While there are many names found in the records of history of the DGWS, some frequent names found in many of the artifacts include the following contributors and leaders. 

  • Ada Mae Warrington – Prince George’s County
  • Alice White – Baltimore County
  • Barbara Manley – Caroline County
  • Barbara McCool – Wicomico County
  • Barbara Riley – Montgomery County
  • Bonnie Smith – Talbot County
  • Eleanor Wright – Baltimore Board of Women’s Officials
  • Florence Bell – Goucher College
  • Gretchen Byrd – Wicomico County
  • Jennie Azhderian – Montgomery County
  • Josephine Fiske
  • June Lippy – Montgomery County
  • Lilian Burke
  • Loretta Bryant – Baltimore City
  • Lynn Walkup - Dorchester County
  • Mary Bailey – Baltimore city
  • Maxine Murray – Frederick County
  • May Brooks – Talbot County
  • Mildred Fleming – Somerset County
  • Mildred Haney – Baltimore County
  • Mildred Murray – Baltimore County
  • Pat Wescott - Worcester County

To see some of the work, struggles, and progress of the Maryland Association for Girls and Women’s Sports, as well has some historical information, please see the below artifacts from the DGWS. 

The MPSSAA will publish more stories, history, artifacts as the MPSSAA celebrates Title IX at 50, including those that have shaped the MPSSAA since the passage of Title IX. 


Back to news