Print Page


2024 Wrestling State Championships

Middletown HS

The 2024 Wrestling State Tournament was hosted by The Show Place Arena on February 29 - March 2.  Besides watching wrestlers competing for their weight class titles, we saw a girls team wrestling state tournament champion crowned for the first time.   Also, members of the wrestling community were selected as recipients of the Service to Wrestling Award and one former coach was inducted into the Maryland State Wrestling Hall of Fame.

It’s not uncommon for a wrestler to become a multiple time state champion.  Many wrestlers were hoping to hit the record books and be a two or even three-time champion.  Below are the ones who were successful in capturing another title, listed in order of weight and including any previous weight titles and year won in parentheses.

2A/1A Two-Time Champions

Elijah Collick, Stephen Decatur, 113 (106 - 2023)

JoJo Gigliotti, South Carroll, 132 (120 - 2023)


2A/1A Three-Time Champions

Tyler Garvin, Rising Sun, 120 (113 - 2023, 106 – 2022)

Calvin Kraisser, Centennial, 144 (138 - 2023, 132 - 2022)
* Wrestled in Class 4A/3A in 2022 & 2023.


4A/3A Two-Time Champion

Cooper VanScoyoc, Oakdale, 132 (126 - 2023)

RJ Duncan, Old Mill, 285 (285 - 2023)


Girls Two-Time Champions

Alexandra Conley, Queen Anne's, 100 (100 - 2022)

Jada Chaves, Arundel, 105 (105 - 2022)

Domenica Gladwell, Southern-AA, 115 (115 - 2023)

Lexi Pabon, Crofton, 125 (125 - 2023)


Girls Three-Time Champions

Nebi Tsarni, Watkins Mill, 155 (155 - 2023, 145 – 2022)

Ugochi Anunobi, Randallstown, 170 (170 - 2023,155 – 2022)


Sportsmanship Award

The Sportsmanship Award, voted on by wrestling state committee members, coaches, and administrators, is given to a team that wrestled in the Dual Meet State Championships and announced at the State Wrestling Tournament.  This year's award went to the Middletown Knights.


Maryland State Wrestling Hall of Fame

The Maryland State Wrestling Hall of Fame was established in 1975 to honor those who have dedicated their time to high school wrestling within the state or to outstanding coaches or wrestlers who have given prominence to the sport through their achievements.  The MPSSAA honored one inductee this year.

Dean Cox

Mr. Cox wrestled at Perryville HS and then at Salisbury University.   As the head coach of Rising Sun HS from 1991-2012, he won 2 state championships (1 Dual, 1 Tournament).


Service To Wrestling Award

The MPSSAA honored those who were selected to receive the Service To Wrestling Award.  The recipients of this award, established in 1988, are people who have dedicated so much of their time to the sport of wrestling on the county, regional, or state level.  Congratulations and thank you to the 2024 honorees!

John Furgeson

Rich Pauole

Mike Whisner


Visit Wrestling State Championship Central for all results!

Back to news