Print Page


2023 Wrestling State Tournament Recap


The 2023 Wrestling State Tournament was hosted by The Show Place Arena on March 2-4.  In addition to the co-ed brackets, the girls’ division had grown to over 200 entries in its third year.  The three days of competition exhibited every emotion possible from anguish and heartbroken to surprise and exhilaration.

It’s not uncommon for a wrestler to become a multiple time state champion.  Many wrestlers were hoping to hit the record books and be a two or even three-time champion.  Below are the ones who were successful in capturing another title, listed in order of weight and including any previous weight titles and year won in parentheses.

2A/1A Two-Time Champions

Tyler Garvin, Rising Sun, 113 (106 – 2022)

Jacob Brenneman, Northern-G, 138 (113 – 2020)

Jake Boog, Man. Valley, 170 (152 – 2022)


2A/1A Three-Time Champions

Michael Pizzuto, S. Carroll, 145 (106 – 2020, 126 – 2022)

AJ Rodrigues, S. Carroll, 160 (126 – 2020, 160 – 2022)


4A/3A Two-Time Champion

Calvin Kraisser, Centennial, 138 (132 – 2022)


Girls Two-Time Champions

Brianna Holcomb, Northern-Cal, 130 (125 – 2022)

Nebi Tsarni, Watkins Mill, 155 (145 – 2022)

Ugochi Anunobi, Randallstown, 170 (155 – 2022)

Jabea Ewane, Watkins Mill, 190 (170 – 2022)


Girls Three-Time Champions

Nadia Estrada, Richard Montgomery, 145 (122 – 2020, 135 – 2022)

Jocelyn Cacek, Great Mills, 235 (225 – 2020, 235 – 2022)


Sportsmanship Award

The Sportsmanship Award, voted on by wrestling state committee members, coaches, and administrators, is given to a team that wrestled in the Dual Meet State Championships and announced at the State Wrestling Tournament.  This year's award went to Dr. Henry A. Wise, Jr.


Service To Wrestling Award

In addition to the state tournament, the MPSSAA honored those who were selected to receive the Service To Wrestling Award.  The recipients of this award, established in 1988, are people who have dedicated so much of their time to the sport of wrestling on the county, regional, or state level.  Congratulations and thank you to the 2023 honorees!

Ben Arneson

Burt Cashman

Brian Rudo

Nathan Stone

John Walter


Visit Wrestling State Championship Central for all results!

Back to news