Print Page


We Are The Champions!

    Four state champions were crowned on Saturday (5/28) at Ripken Stadium in Aberdeen.  Select the links above for the complete brackets and results in each classification.  (updated 5/28/11, 10:15 p.m.) 

     Championship play began on Friday when Westminster completed an undefeated 23-0 season as they squeezed by Severna Park, 8-7 for the Class 4A title.  Saturday's play started with St. Michael's successfully defending their Class 1A crown by shutting out Patterson Mill, 4-0.  Next, the Class 2A title went to North Caroline by virtue of their 4-0 shutout of Lansdowne.  The final game was the Class 3A title contest where J.M. Bennett completed an undefeated 22-0 season in eight innings over La Plata, 5-2.  North Harford HS garnered the tournament Sportsmanship Award for displaying the best overall sportsmanship by a team and their fans at this year's tournament.

     The MPSSAA appreciates the hard work and flexibility of our schools and athletic departments in completing the region tournament on time in spite of an overabundance of rain. Everyone's spirit of cooperation allowed the State tournament to take place as scheduled and we thank you.  Thanks also go to our State Semifinal host sites, the school administrations, the athletic departments, Recreation Departments, and the athletic directors at Montgomery Blair HS,  McCurdy Field, Joe Cannon Stadium, and the University of Maryland -College Park.  It also goes without saying how indebted we are to the folks at Ripken Stadium and their staff for the use of their beautiful facility to hold our event.  The level of cooperation that we receive is wonderful year after year and we look forward to returning again next year.  See you there in 2012!

Back to news