Print Page


State Volleyball Champs Battle Through Tough Competition In Earning 2016 Crowns!!

November 20, 2016 10:00 AM
A Patuxent spiker hits the ball between two Hereford blockers at the net during the 2015 State Semifinals.

     Fan support was tremendous on the final day of the volleyball season and the players on the court did not disappoint.  Matches seesawed back and forth as teams tried to gain momentum and keep it.  After the final whistle, Smithsburg HS (Class 1A) and Northwest HS (Class 4A) successfully defended last year's titles.  Williamsport unseated the defending  Class 2A champs as they returned to the winners' circle for the 14th time while Atholton claimed the crown in Class 3A, their first state volleyball title in 37 years.  Prior to the final awards ceremony of the evening, the Bowie Bulldogs were announced as the recipient of the Lesley W. Cooke Sportsmanship Award in recognition of positive behaviors demonstrated by their team, coaches, and fans.  Click on the links below to view State Semifinal and State Finals results, official State Semifinal and Final match statistics, and the complete brackets for each classification.  Don't forget about the unlimited free viewing and DVD purchases that will be available within days of the original contest on the NFHS Network!

     Many thanks go out to the tireless work of the State Volleyball Committee led by director Sybil Kessinger and to the 16 region tournament directors for coordinating the play leading up to the State Tournament.  Our deepest appreciation goes out to all of the tournament workers for their dedication and assistance over five days of semifinals and finals play.  We would also like to thank our friends at the University of Maryland College Park's Campus Recreation Services for their unparalleled cooperation and assistance in providing Ritchie Coliseum to us. We are very fortunate to be able to hold our tournament at such an ideal venue for viewing championship volleyball.  We look forward to seeing everyone back there again next year!

Back to news