Print Page


State Golf Champions Outlast The Field To Take Home 2019 Titles!!

November 5, 2019 01:15 PM
University of Maryland golf sign adjacent to their driving range.

     The 2019 State Golf Tournament has come to another successful conclusion at the University of Maryland - College Park golf course as some new faces took home gold along with a few familiar ones.  Our sincere thanks to the golf course management and employees at the University of Maryland - College Park for providing us with a top flight facility that we are proud to play our championships on.  We cannot say enough about how much we appreciate the cooperation and assistance that we continually receive!  Select the links below to view a results summary as well as complete final results for category.

     The Class 4A/3A Team title was won by Winston Churchill over runners-up Wootton and Urbana by 2 strokes, 603-605.  The was the fifteenth state golf title for Churchill.  The Class 2A/1A Team title went to a four-hole playoff before Oakdale prevailed over Linganore for their first ever state golf crown.  Walter Johnson's Jake Griffin took home the Class 4A/3A Boys title by a stroke over Sherwood's Bryan Kim, 141-142.  This was not only Jake's first title but also the first individual title for a Walter Johnson golfer.  The Class 2A/1A Boys title went to La Plata's Gavin Ganter by a stroke over Ethan Wolbert from Winter's Mill, 149-150.  This was Gavin's first state title and the third time that a La Plata golfer has won an individual state title.  Bailey Davis of North Point executed a three-peat winning the Girls 4A/3A crown with a 145 beating four other golfers tied with scores of 147.  Patterson Mill's Paula Moon won her first state title and the first for an individual golfer from Patterson Mill as she bested Elizabeth Tucci of Oakdale, 159-165 for the Girls 2A/1A state championship.

     Along with the good folks at the UMD golf course, another important cog in making the tournament successful is the time and effort put in behind the scenes by the State Golf Committee, Committee Director Eric Michael, and State Site Director Phelps Prescott .  We tip our cap to each of you and thank you for your contributions.  Until next fall, may everyone's drives be long and straight!

Back to news