Print Page


Perseverence Pays Off For Champs

     After five days, 12 hard-fought matches, and energetic crowds at the University of Maryland College Park's Ritchie Coliseum, four state champions have been crowned, two for the very first time.  Click on the links above to view complete results and match statistics.  (updated 11/16/13, 9:30 PM)

     Class 2A started championship Saturday with a barn-burner of a title match as Patuxent and Poolesville battled back and forth for 5 games before Patuxent prevailed 25-21, 25-22, 20-25, 24-26, 15-13 for their second state volleyball crown and their first since 2002.  The Class 4A final followed with a hard fought match that had Dulaney downing Severna Park in 3 straight for their third state title and first since 2000.  The third match featured two Class 1A finalists looking for a first ever state title as Fort Hill overcame Carver A&T by a score of 3 games to none.  Class 3A finished up the tournament in exciting fashion as Damascus topped La Plata in 3 straight games to take home the state championship trophy for the first time.  Congratulations also go to High Point HS who was awarded the Lesley A. Cooke Sportsmanship Award.  Don't forget to relive every exciting moment with unlimited free viewing and DVD purchases within days of the original contest on the MPSSAA Network

     The MPSSAA appreciates the efforts of the State Volleyball Committee, led by Peggy Troiano and Tournament Director Sybil Modispacher, in putting this tournament  together from the first round of the region tournaments to the Finals.  A special thank you to the wonderful staff at the University of Maryland's Campus Recreation Services for the use of Ritchie Coliseum for five days. The cooperation and assistance that you give us is...priceless!  Congratulations also to all of the officials, coaches, and teams that participated in this year's tournament for the exciting play put on display for all of the spectators to appreciate and enjoy.  We look forward to seeing the same enthusiastic crowds at next year's tournament!

Back to news