Print Page


MPSSAA Congratulates 2021-22 NFHS Coach of the Year Honorees

Baltimore, MD - The Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association (MPSSAA) congratulates the sixteen high school coaches from across Maryland that have been selected as 2021-22 National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Coaches of the Year.

The NFHS annually honors a Coach of the Year in the top ten girls sports and top ten boys spots (by participation numbers), and in two “Other” categories – one for boys and one for girls – that are not included in the top ten listings.  The NFHS also recognizes a spirit coach as a separate award category.  Winners of NFHS awards must be active coaches during the year for which they receive their award. 

The recipients of this year’s awards for girls sports are: Mike Dukes, basketball, Pikesville High School; Brianna Bostic, cross country, Broadneck High School; Amanda Brady, lacrosse, Marriotts Ridge High School; Peg Keiller, soccer, Quince Orchard High School; Ashley Barber-Strunk, softball, Sherwood High School; Carol Hubbard, volleyball, North Dorchester High School.

Recipients of state awards for boys sports are: Sean Davis, baseball, Sherwood High School; Gary Frace, cross country, Springbrook High School; John Kelley, football, Quince Orchard High School; Jason Mandeville, soccer, Chopticon High School; Kelley Pfefferkorn, boys tennis, River Hill; John Cooper, lacrosse, Parkville High School; Herman Harried, basketball, Lake Clifton; Mike Whisner, wrestling, Sparrows Point High School.

The recipient for State Coach of the Year for spirit is Lesley Farquharson of Henry E. Lackey.  Chris Small, the girls badminton coach at Baltimore Polytechnic Institute, was chosen in the "Other" category.

The following coaches have been selected as NFHS Section II Coaches of the Year and are eligible for the national level award in their sport:  Kelley Pfefferkorn, boys tennis; Herman Harried, boys basketball.

Back to news