Print Page


MPSSAA Celebrates State Coaches of the Year

Baltimore, MD – The Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association (MPSSAA) congratulates the thirty-three high school coaches from across Maryland that have been selected as 2020-21 National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Coaches of the Year.

The NFHS annually honors a Coach of the Year in the top ten girls sports and top ten boys spots (by participation numbers), and in two “Other” categories – one for boys and one for girls – that are not included in the top ten listings.  Winners of NFHS awards must be active coaches during the year for which they receive their award. 

The recipients of this year’s awards for girls sports are: Barry Green, basketball, Liberty High School; Matthew Wood, basketball, Great Mills High School; Catherine Miller, field hockey, Winston Churchill High School; Lynn Powell, field hockey, Patuxent High School; Brenda Strohmer, field hockey, Liberty High School; Tom Brandel, lacrosse, Liberty High School; Faye Brust, lacrosse, C. Milton Wright High School: Kelly Hughes, lacrosse, Sherwood High School; Kevin Barry, soccer, La Plata High School; Robert Radford, softball, Northern-Calvert High School; Mary Jane Cupples, swimming and diving, La Plata High School; AJ Stuart, tennis, Urbana High School; Bryant Adams, track and field, Gaithersburg High School; Shawn Snyder, track and field, Leonardtown High School; Sylvester Banks, volleyball, Reginald F. Lewis High School; Steven Correll, volleyball, Leonardtown High School.

Recipients of 2021 state awards for boys sports are: Sean Davis, baseball, Sherwood High School; Mike Franklin, baseball, Catoctin High School; Tim Larrimore, baseball, North Harford High School; Raymond Sapp, baseball, Chopticon High School; Dale Lamberth, basketball, Thomas Stone High School; Paul Friel, football, Huntingtown High School; DeLawn Parrish, football, Dr. Henry A. Wise High School; Michelle Hunsicker-Blair, golf, Poolesville High School; Gavin Donahue, lacrosse, Urbana High School; Peter Kerwin, lacrosse, Huntingtown High School; James Potts, lacrosse, James Hubert Blake High School; Mary Jane Cupples, swimming and diving, La Plata High School; Fran McCullin, tennis, Westminster High School; Amy Trainer, tennis, Huntingtown High School; Jon Walton, tennis, Urbana High School; Valerie Harrington, track and field, Huntingtown High School; Dave Dodson, wrestling, Manchester Valley High School; Johnathon Pankhurst, wrestling, La Plata High School.

The following coaches have been selected as NFHS Section II Coaches of the Year and are eligible for the national level award in their sport: Tim Larrimore, baseball; Matthew Wood, girls basketball; Robert Radford, softball; Bryant Adams, girls track and field; and Sylvester Banks, volleyball.

Back to news