Print Page


Luncheon Held To Honor Scholarship Recipients

     Our eight recipients of the 2009 Allstate Foundation Minds In Motion $1,000 Scholarships were honored on Tuesday at a luncheon held at M&T Bank Stadium.  Four Allstate representatives were in attendance to participate in the recognition of these outstanding student-athletes.

     Receiving ceremonial checks after impressive introductions where each honoree had a least a 3.9 GPA and 12 seasons of athletic particpation were Kurt Winter and Kyle Fairchild from Chesapeake High School in Anne Arundel County, Ross Twanmoh of Fallston High School, Ross Gothelf of Owings Mills High School, Lindsay Chetelat and Erin McGuire from Stephen Decatur High School, Shayna Sweitzer of Southern High School, and Amelia Tenberg of Hereford High School.  Allstate representatives Patricia Browne, Julie St. Marie, Debbie Pickford, and Shelva Cleamons participated in recognizing the scholarship winners and were awed by the recipients' lists of accomplishments and accolades.

     Parents, siblings, coaches, athletic directors, and administrators were in attendance from the families and schools of the scholarship winners.  Also, the six Maryland Student Delegates that will be attending the National Student Leadership Conference this summer in Indianapolis were in attendance and introduced to the audience.  This annual conference is sponsored by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) and will be a springboard for the future development of a statewide student leadership conference in Maryland.

     The MPSSAA Minds in Motion Scholarship is sponsored by the Allstate Foundation through the MPSSAA sponsorship agreement with the Allstate Insurance Company.  The Allstate Company is the nation's largest publicly held personal lines insurer.  Widely known through the "You're In Good Hands With Allstate®" slogan, the company serves the community by contributing to local economies and supporting nonprofit organizations.

Back to news