Print Page


Eighteen Scholar-Athletes Honored at Minds In Motion Luncheon


The MPSSAA was proud to honor the 18 recipients of the 2023 Minds In Motion Scholar-Athlete Scholarship at a luncheon held today in the Ravens team locker room at M&T Bank Stadium.  Present for the event was guest speaker Mike Bordick, a member of the Baltimore Orioles Hall of Fame.  He is also Chairman of the board of directors for League of Dreams, a non-profit foundation which provides empowerment for children with disabilities through baseball and softball activities, instructional camps, and after-school events.  Mr. Bordick captivated the audience with his well spoken points pulling from personal experiences from childhood through his professional baseball career.  

Representatives from each of the nine districts, whether it be a county's athletics supervisor or a recipient's principal, athletic director, or coach, introduced each of the 18 scholar-athletes with bios on their accomplishments and future plans.

Please join us in congratulating the following outstanding seniors!

Ethan Aidam, Oakland Mills                         Etana Heda, Springbrook
Emily Atha, Fallston                                       Grace Jennings, Winston Churchill
Jessica Beck, Stephen Decatur                     Jeffrey Mueller, Parkside
Brianna Bridgemohan, Forest Park             Julia Nilsson, Great Mills
Ivy Coldren, Urbana                                       Taiwo Omisore, Charles H. Flowers
CJ Doherty, Baltimore City College              Emmanuel Omolafe, Chesapeake-B
Will Edwards, Maurice J. McDonough         Madison Pitt, North County
Estelle Gerber, Towson                                 Sam Teefy, Havre de Grace
Darius Grimes, Frederick Douglass-PG      Sam Zaloudek, South Carroll

Since it's inception in 2008, this 16th annual Minds In Motion Scholar-Athlete program has awarded over $190,000 in scholarships.  Applicants must have a minimum 3.25 unweighted overall GPA and have participated in interscholastic athletic activities sponsored by the MPSSAA during their high school careers.  Selected male and female recipients receive a $1,000 scholarship.

Back to news