Print Page


Champs Are Head And Shoulders Above Field

      LaPlata brought home their second consecutive State Class 4A/3A team title defeating their nearest competitor, defending champ Reservoir 132.5 points to 79 points.  Simultaneously in Class 2A/1A, Winters Mill overcame Owings Mills' day one lead to win the crown 126.5 points to 107.5 points.  Souvenir apparel items that sold out on site may be ordered online beginning Wednesday (3/9) afternoon at  (updated 3/9/11, 1:10 p.m.)

     Winters Mills' team title was their first in school history while Bladensburg, Carver Vo-Tech, and Patterson Mill all had individual wrestlers win first ever state championships for their schools.  Pulling down second consecutive state titles were Mark Colabucci (171) of Reservoir and Parkside's Zach Eure (215). Even more impressively, five wrestlers won weight class crowns for the third time in their careers: Southern-Garrett's Lex Ozias (152) and Bubba Scheffel (171), Oakland Mills' Tony Farace (112), Ron Vaughters (145) of Old Mill, and Centennial's Nathan Kraisser (125).

     Re-live all of the Final round excitement videotaped by Scholastic Sports Net ( or purchase keepsake DVD's of the championship matches by selecting the link above.  The video is now available for your viewing pleasure.

     We are indebted, once again, for the cooperation and assistance provided to us by the University of Maryland's Campus Recreation Services in providing Cole Field House to us as our state tournament venue. Thanks, too, to all of our Region Tournament Directors and host school sites for organizing and running successful region meets.  We are also most appreciative of all of the tournament workers, officials, and State Wrestling Tournament Committee members for providing the energy and manpower required by a state championship venture of this size.  It is thanks to your efforts that our participating student-athletes have such a positive and memorable experience.  Mark your calendars for this time next year when we see if we have additions to the elite four-time state champion club!

Back to news