Print Page


2023 Field Hockey Championships Recap

The 2023 MPSSAA Field Hockey State Championships were held at Paint Branch High School on November 11th.  Returning to the final day were five of the eight teams who vyed for the state title in the last go-around.  

In the Class 1A game, South Carroll faced Pocomoke, who had trounced them 5-1 in the 2022 final.  The Cavaliers were able to avenge that loss and come away with a 2-1 victory!  This gave South Carroll their sixth overall title.

Glenelg, playing in their third straight Class 2A championship game were looking to go 3 for 3, but knew they had to go through a Hereford team, who was itching to be a champion again, after going 0-3 in title games since 2017.  The Gladiators came out on top once again, knocking in four goals to none, and winning their seventh state championship!

The Class 3A championship brought in a couple schools whose most recent appearance was 2013 when Mount Hebron and current coach, Jeanette Ireland, lost in the final.  It had been even longer since their opponent Northern-Cal, last appeared in the championship game.  It was 1997 and the Patriots won their only title to date.  They were no match for the Vikings as Mount Hebron powered through, taking the game 5-1, and giving Coach Ireland, and the school, that elusive first championship!

Crofton, last year's Class 3A champion, moved to Class 4A due to increased enrollment.  Making it to the final once again, they faced Winston Churchill, a team who was making an appearance in this last game of the season for the third straight year.  They had lost the previous two tries.  It was not to be for the Bulldogs as the Cardinals' defense shut them out of the goal while their attack put in five of their own, giving Crofton their second championship in as many tries.


State Finals Results

Class 4A
Winston Churchill vs. Crofton -- CROFTON won 5 - 0
Class 3A
Northern-Cal vs. Mount Hebron -- MOUNT HEBRON won 5 - 1
Class 2A
Hereford vs. Glenelg -- GLENELG won 4 - 0
Class 1A
Pocomoke vs. South Carroll -- SOUTH CARROLL won 2 - 1
Phyllis Hemmes Sportsmanship Award:  NORTHERN-CAL PATRIOTS
Back to news