Print Page


2018 Boys And Girls Lacrosse State Champs Bask In The Glow Of Their Accomplishments!!

May 25, 2018 09:00 AM
In the 2017 Class 3A/2A Boys State Lacrosse Final, a Northern-Calvert plays dives while taking a shot on the Glenelg goalie.

     The State Lacrosse Finals wrapped up Thursday night bringing the first year of four classifications to a successful conclusion.  Four schools won first-time titles, two schools won for the second time, and two more schools are regulars to the title stage and added more hardware to their trophy cases.  Click on the links below to view a summary of the State Semifinal and Final results and the complete brackets for each gender and classification.

     Title play began on Tuesday with Class 1A as Patterson Mill swept the boys and girls titles, both firsts for the school.  The South River Girls hoisted the champions trophy for the second time in the Class 4A title game in the night cap.  On Wednesday, Howard County swept the Class 2A titles as the Glenelg Girls won a third consecutive crown (their fifth overall) and the Marriotts Ridge Boys won their first ever state championship.  The Boys 4A game capped off the night with Severna Park prevailing by one goal for their third consecutive and eight overall title.  Play concluded on Thursday as the Westminster Boys and Girls took home both 3A championship awards.  This was the first state title for the Girls and the second for the Boys.  Another sweep occurred with the tournament sportsmanship awards as Eleanor Roosevelt won both the Boys and Girls awards.  Way to go!!  Don't forget that you can relive every exciting play with unlimited free viewing on-demand and DVD purchases within days of the original contest on the NFHS Network.

     The MPSSAA appreciates the hard work and flexibility of our schools and athletic departments in completing the region tournament on time in spite of an overabundance of rain.  Everyone's spirit of cooperation allowed the State tournament to take place as scheduled and we thank you!  Thanks also go to our State Semifinal host sites, the school administrations, the athletic departments, and especially the athletic directors at Gaithersburg HS, Mount Hebron HS, Northeast-AA HS, and Havre de Grace HS.  It also goes without saying how indebted we are to State Committee Directors Ken Zorbach and Melba Williams along with the athletic department at Sevenson University and their staff for the use of Mustang Stadium to hold our event.  The level of cooperation that we receive is spectacular year after year and we look forward to returning again next year.  See you there in 2019!

Back to news