Print Page


2017 Lacrosse State Finals Finish In Fast, Furious, Fantastic Fashion!!

May 25, 2017 09:45 AM
An Oakdale defensive player shadows a Glenelg offensive player in the 2016 Girls State Lacrosse Finals.

     The State Lacrosse Championships came to a thrilling close at Stevenson University last night with the Severna Park Boys and Churchill Boys battling until the last second as Severna Park netted a buzzer-beater to prevail 7-6 for their seventh state crown.  Joining the Severna Park Boys in successfully defending their 2016 title was the Glenelg Girls who topped C. Milton Wright  in posting their fourth overall state crown.  Another regular to the state scene is the Century Girls who handled Fallston, 13-5 and earned their seventh state championship trophy.  Click on the links below to view a summary of the State Final and Semifinal results and official game stats, as well as the complete brackets for each gender and classification.

     Additional special congratulations go to our three first-time state champions.  The Northern-Calvert Boys edged Glenelg, 5-4 and the boys from Southern-AA prevailed over South Carroll, 20-7.  On the girls side, Bel Air nipped Severna Park in another thriller, 10-9.  Rounding out the circle of winners was the Liberty Boys and Sherwood Girls who received the tournament sportsmanship awards.  Way to go!!  Don't forget to relive every heart-stopping moment with unlimited free viewing and DVD purchases within 72 hours of the original contest on the NFHS Network!

     Congratulations to all of our participants, coaches, officials, and spectators for another memorable season.  Our thanks go to the athletic department and support staff at Stevenson University for their hospitality and cooperation as our tournament finals site.  In addition, we 'd like to thank Gaithersburg HS, Mount Hebron HS, and Northeast-AA HS, their athletic departments  and staffs for doing an exceptional job hosting all of the State Semifinals.  Last but not least, a hearty thank you to the members of State Lacrosse Tournament Committees, led by Ken Zorbach and Melba Williams, for their invaluable time and effort all season long.  We hope to see everyone back at Stevenson University next year for more of the "fastest game on two feet"!

Back to news