Print Page


2016 State Softball Champions Out Hit The Competition!!

May 29, 2016 11:50 AM

      The State Softball Finals at the University of Maryland Softball Stadium  came to a steamy conclusion as teams put on a hitting display with lots of runs scored and action on the base paths.  Two first time state titles were won by Perryville (1A) and La Plata (2A), while Westminster (3A) won their 3rd crown, and Sherwood (4A) successfully defended their title for the 5th year in a row!  Congratulations also go out to Montgomery Blair HS for winning the Eugene Robertson Sportsmanship Award.  Well done!  Click on the links below for the complete brackets for each classification and State Tournament results.

     Our thanks go to everyone that helped to make this year's tournament a resounding success, including the Anne Arundel County Department of Recreation and Parks for the use of Bachman Park as a State Semifinal site and the Athletic Department at the University of Maryland - College Park for the use of their softball facility to showcase our Finals.  Many State Softball Committee members, led by Committee Director Lynn Pitonzo, and other volunteers unselfishly gave their valuable time during the season as well as the tournament to ensure a memorable event for the participants and we greatly appreciate it.  Enjoy your summer and we'll see you next year!

Back to news