Print Page


2008 MPSSAA Golf Champions Crowned!

     Frost may have delayed the start of Thursday's Final Round by 75 minutes but the play of this year's state champions sizzled.   Josh Eure from South River won the Boys Individual title in convincing fashion after firing a second round 71 for a total of 147 and a 5 stroke win over LaPlata's Jay Dove.  Smithburg's Haeun Lee bested the girls field after shooting a 75 for a two day total of 156 and 4 stroke margin of victory over Lauren Smith from Arundel.

     The team titles were won by North Point High School in the Class 1A/2A Tournament and Churchill High School in the Class 3A/4A Tournament.  North Point topped all schools with a scintillating team score of 659 for a comfortable 36 stroke win over Glenelg in 1A/2A.  North Harford earned the runner-up trophy in 3A/4A by shooting a team score of 674.

     A listing of all of the final results follows.  Congratulations to all of the participating teams and coaches for a skillful and exciting end to the 2008 season!




Back to news