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There will be at least 3 quizzes this season. To work state playoffs you must complete one of
the three. Submit your answers via survey monkey. There is no specified passing grade. The
point is to engage with the scenarios, determine a response, and submit your answer. Feel free
to consult the rulebook, casebook, or official’s manual. Compare your answers to those
provided at the end of the quiz period and note how you compare to your colleagues

As with most exams, S refers to the serving team and R to the receiving team. Positions are
designated using the standard numbering scheme:

— 1 =Right Back

— 2 =Right Front

— 3 =Middle Front

— 4 = Left Front

— 5= Left Back

— 6= Middle Back
In this system R6 is the middle back player on the receiving team. S1 is the serving team’s
server.

Alternatively, players may be designated by their uniform number and teams by A and B when
the serving or receiving status does not affect the scenario.



2. Player #15 on team A arrives in the substitution zone. The R2 whistles
and signals for a substitution. The coach for team A yells “no sub” and
pulls #15 out of the substitution zone, sending her back to the bench.
Which of the following is correct?

a. Since the substitution was authorized by the second referee,
the substitute must enter the set and play for at least one rally.

b. Since the substitution was authorized by the second referee,
the substitute must enter the set, but the coach can use a second
substitute to immediately remove the player from the set, so long as the
second substitute happens immediately after the first.

c. The coach can withdraw the substitution request, but an
unnecessary delay will be awarded.

d. The coach can withdraw the substitution request without
penalty.
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e Answer: C.

10-2-ART. 7 ... Delaying substitution is illegal and occurs when a:

a. Coach:
1. After the request and instructing players, does not remain in replacement zone at least 6 feet back from the sideline, once the

first referee extends the arm in preparation to whistle and signal serve;
2. Withdraws a substitution request after it has been recognized.

PENALTIES:
1. Unnecessary delay (administrative yellow card for the first offense or administrative red card for
subsequent offense in that set) is charged to the offending team when a:

a. Substitution is delayed;

Q2 Player #15 on team A arrives in the substitution zone. The R2 whistles and signals for a
substitution. The coach for team A yells “no sub” and pulls #15 out of the substitution zone,
sending her back to the bench. Which of the following is correct?

Since the
substitution...
Since the
substitution...

The coach can
withdraw the...

The coach can
withdraw the...

Other (please
specify)
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3. This antenna configuration is correct. The
pole is to the left.

a. frue
b. False
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* b. False See diagram 29 in the officials manual

3-1-ART. 5. .. Net antennas shall be attached to the net in line with the outside edge
of the sideline and extend upward at least 2% feet but no more than 3% feet above
the net. The antennas shall be fastened securely to the top and bottom of the net.
They shall be of an unbreakable material no more than 3/8 inch in diameter with
alternating 4-inch to 6-inch white and orange or red bands.

Q3 This antenna configuration is correct. The pole is to the left.

Inbounds Qut-of-bounds



4. The stripes are less than one inch in width.
Which is true.

a. Both jerseys are solid.

b. Neither jersey is solid, but either may be
worn as a multlcolored jersey.
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e b.—trimis noton aseam

* Rule 4-2-2.c Piping/trim not exceeding 1 inch in total at its
widest point may be placed along the seams and may be a
different color(s) than the uniform top.

Q4 The stripes in this photo are less than one inch in width. Which is true?

Both jerseys

are solid.
Neither jersey
is solid, bu...

0%  10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% T0% 80% 0% 1007




5. The libero is currently in the left back position (position 5)
when her team wins the rally. Rather than returning to the
bench when the front row player replaces her, she goes

immediately to serve. Which of the following is false in this
situation?

a. Legal replacement as long as the she has not yet served in
the set.

b. Legal replacement if she has already served for the next
server position during the current set

c. lllegal replacement if she has already served for a different
player position during the current set.

d. lllegal replacement, the libero must return to the bench for
one rally prior to serving.
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e Answer: dis false

10-4-5.b When serving, the libero is not required to leave the playing area or
be out of the set for one rally/dead ball before replacing the incoming player
in the right back position.

Q5 The libero is currently in the left back position (position 5) when her team wins the rally.
Rather than returning to the bench when the front row player replaces her, she goes
immediately to serve. Which of the following is false in this situation?

Legal
replacement ...
Legal
replacement ...

Illegal
replacement ...

lllegal
replacement,...

0%  10% 20% 30% 40% 50% GO%: TO% 0% 20% 100%



w%
SN MARYLAND PUBLIC SECONDARY
%% § SCHOOLS ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION

)

.
6. The libero can serve for one player position

but the coach must designate that position with
the R2 prior to the libero serving.

a. lrue
b. false



K MARYLAND PUBLIC SECONDARY
3% Asj SCHOOLS ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION
) | |

* Answer: b. no requirement to designate

which serving position.

ART.5... Libero serving:
a. The libero is allowed to serve in one position in the service order;

Q6 The libero can serve for one player position, but the coach must designate that position
with the R2 prior to the libero serving.

True I

0%  10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% T0% 80% 20%%: 100%



7. The rules specifically prohibit line judges from
chasing balls during a set.

a. true
b. false
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« Answer: b. False. While not a specified duty, do not make up requirements that
aren’t in the rules. Nothing says LJs can’t chase the ball if willing.

e Line judges must signal as required by rules. After that, why do you really care
which teenager chases the ball?

ART. 3 ... During the set, each line judge shall assist the first referee and second referee by:

a. Determining at the moment of contact for the serve whether the server touches the end line or the floor outside the lines marking the
width of the serving area;

b. Indicating when the serve, or any played ball, crosses the net not entirely between the net antennas;

c. Indicating when the ball touches the net, net antennas, and/or net supports not entirely between the net antennas;

d. Indicating whether a ball is inbounds or out of bounds when it lands on or near any line for which the line judge is responsible;
e. Indicating when a player touches a ball that is going out of bounds on the player's side of the net;

f. Communicating with the first referee when asked, when the ball touches the ceiling or overhead obstruction, if out of the view of the
referees.

Q7 NFHS rules specifically prohibit line judges from chasing balls during a set.

Tru ) -
False _

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% G60% TO% 80% 90% 100%
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8. The hair beads shown in this picture are illegal.

a. lrue
b. False




Q) \ MARYLAND PUBLIC SECONDARY

&

()
SCHOOLS ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION

 Answer: a. Not soft material (caution — my wife tells me
some foam beads exist and they would be legal)

* 4-1-ART.5... Hair devices made of soft material and no more than 3
inches wide may be worn in the hair or on the head. Bobby pins, flat clips
and flat barrettes, unadorned and no longer than 2 inches, are also
allowed.

Q8 The hair beads shown in this picture are illegal.

0%  10% 20% 30% A40% 50% 60% T0% 80% 90% 100%
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9. Watch this clip and answer questions 9 and 10.
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https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilKkktBhmlo

The setter in blue should be called for illegal
contact.

a.yes
b. ho


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilKkktBhmIo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilKkktBhmIo
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e Answer: b. false

9-4-ART.5... Legal contact is a touch of the ball by any part of a player's body which does not
allow the ball to visibly come to rest or involve prolonged contact with a player's body.

Also not caught or thrown as discussed in the officials manual.

Q9 Watch this clip and answer questions 9 and 10. The setter in blue should be called for
illegal contact.

0%  10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% T0% 0% 0% 100%
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10. Player number 11 in white should be called for
illegal contact.

a. yes
b. no
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e Answer: b.

9-4-ART.5... Legal contact is a touch of the ball by any part of a player's body which does not
allow the ball to visibly come to rest or involve prolonged contact with a player's body.

Also not caught or thrown as discussed in the officials manual. Body position (underhand) does

not matter.

Q10 Player number 11 in white should be called for illegal contact.

0%  10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% T0% 0% 90% 100%:
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11. Watch this video and decide if the setter on the
left should be called for illegal contact.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-2QZvTUQZU

a. yes
b. no


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-2QZvTUQZU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-2QZvTUQZU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-2QZvTUQZU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-2QZvTUQZU

* Answer: b. Close, but | agree with the
majority. So did the camp staff recording the

play.

Q11 Watch this video and decide if the setter on the left should be called for illegal contact.

yes -
v _

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% T0% 80% 90% 100%



12. Watch this video and decide if the setter on the
left should be called for illegal contact.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q2--Ad9LyzY

a. yes
b. no


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q2--Ad9LyzY
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q2--Ad9LyzY
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q2--Ad9LyzY
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* Answer: a. Again close, and | agree with the
majority. So did the camp staff recording the play.
The contact is an overpass with a throw back from

the net. If you judge the ball is thrown (like a
baseball), it is illegal.

Q12 Watch this video and decide if the setter on the left should be called for illegal contact.

- _

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% TO% B0% 0% 100%:
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13. Watch this video and decide if the attacker on
the left should be called for illegal contact.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pr4JIShVFzw

a. yes
b. no


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pr4JIShVFzw
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pr4JIShVFzw
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e Answer: b.

9-4-ART.5... Legal contact is a touch of the ball by any part of a player's body which does not
allow the ball to visibly come to rest or involve prolonged contact with a player's body.

Also not caught or thrown as discussed in the officials manual. The contact is quicker than a
normal set.

Q13 Watch this video and decide if the attacker on the left should be called for illegal contact.

- -
v _
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