These test questions generated the most phone calls to the Rules Interpreter to ask questions-

A pass by A2 to A3 strikes the referee who is standing in the penalty area. The ball remains on the field of
play

and is controlled by B2. What is the appropriate restart?

A. Indirect Free Kick
B. Throw-In
C. Drop ball to the team that last touched the ball prior to hitting the referee

D. Drop ball to the defending goalkeeper

A dropped ball located inthe penalty area is dropped uncontested for the goalkeeper. Elsewhere, it is
dropped uncontested

for a player of the team that last touched the ball at the point where the ball was located when play was
stopped.

All other players must be at least 4 yards away.

See page 41 9.2.3 Situation C

Correct Answer is D

During a penalty kick, player A2 kicks the ball, and the ball becomes deflated when it hits the crossbar.
What is

the correct restart?

A. Retake the penalty kick
B. Goal Kick Awarded to Team B
C. Corner Kick Awarded to Team A



D. Indirect Kick for Team B

I think this was tricky because, given the scenario was a penalty kick, test takers scrutinized Rule 14
“Penalty Kick.”

This is actually addressed in Rule 2 “The Ball.” Rule 2 section 2 article 4 pg. 13 “A ball that becomes
deflated during a penalty kick

results in a retaken kick.”

Correct Answer is A

What I’d also like to post, if we can, because | had a number of refs contact me to discuss beads woven in
the hair, is the four

slides you sent to me as a preview of what you’d be doing in your part of the clinic. It’s the attachment
to your e-mail to the

Fall interpreters on 6/17/22. | have a copy if you’ve deleted yours. I think it’d be a good concrete
resource post-clinic for anyone

who becomes involved or anticipates being involved in addressing beads woven into hair in accordance
with MPSSAA guidelines.

Ross Burbage



