
From:           James Byrd 

                     MPSSAA Football Rules Interpreter 

Date :           7/23/25 

To:                All Officials 

 

Reference: Clarification on the Forward Fumble Rule 

 

During my Rule Interpretation Clinic, I misspoke on a ruling. On this particular play, the 

ball was snapped at A’s snapped at A’s 5. A1 pitches it to A2 who is in A’s endzone. The ball 

is muffed back into the field of play and goes out of bounds between the goal line. On this 

particular play, the ball will be spotted at the spot where it went out of bounds and the 

clock will start on the snap. You can find a case book play under 4.3.1B 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
My apologies for any confusion this may have caused. As always, thanks to those who 

caught this and keeping me on my toes.  

 

 

 

             

              
                                   

                        
                             
                          
                          
                          



 

 

 

 


