ORGANIZED 1946

AND ARYLAND OF THE PROPERTY OF

TELEPHONE: (410) 767-0376 FAX: (410) 333-3111

R. ANDREW WARNER EXECUTIVE DIRCTOR

MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL FEDERATION OF STATE HIGH SCHOOL ASSOCIATIONS

Maryland State Department of Education 200 West Baltimore Street

MPSSAA Celebrates State Coaches of the Year

For Immediate Release Date: 13 December 2023

Baltimore, MD – The Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association (MPSSAA) congratulates the eighteen high school coaches from across Maryland that have been selected as 2022-23 National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Coaches of the Year.

The NFHS annually honors a Coach of the Year in the top girls' sports and top boys sports by participation numbers. The NFHS also recognizes a spirit and dance/poms coach as a separate award category. Winners of NFHS awards must be active coaches during the year for which they receive their award. This year's awards recognize coaches for the 2022-23 school year.

The recipients of this year's awards for girls sports are: **Scott Robinson**, basketball, Howard High School; **John Roemer IV**, cross country, Hereford High School; **Shelly Brezicki**, lacrosse, Manchester Valley High School; **Greg Herbert**, soccer, Walt Whitman High School; **Lindsay Burns**, softball, Damascus High School; **Tim Brecker**, Tennis, Liberty High School; **Joseph Young**, track & field, Woodlawn High School; **Megan Crawford**, volleyball, North Hagerstown High School.

Recipients of 2022-23 state awards for boys sports are: **Sean Davis**, baseball, Sherwood High School; **Brian Tombs**, basketball, Liberty High School; **James Davis**, cross country, Baltimore Polytechnic Institute High School; **Chris Bassler**, football, Westminster High School; **Matt Graves**, golf, River Hill High School; **Christopher Hoover**, soccer, Fallston High School; **Patrick Mull**, lacrosse, Fallston High School; **Devonte Williams**, track & field, La Plata High School.

The recipient of the State Coach of the Year Award for spirit is **Jennifer Erline** of Hereford High School and **Jeanne Laeng**, Sherwood High School, was awarded coach of the year for dance/poms.

Shelly Brezicki, Manchester Valley High School, girls' lacrosse and **Scott Robinson**, girls' basketball, Howard High School were selected by the NFHS Coaches Committee as Section II coaches of the year.