
 

 

 

 

 

 

TRICKY Play Situations 

 

1. With one flag down, center middie takes a shot which goes over top of the goal, caught 

by an attackman behind the goal, who comes around the net and scores. Is this goal legal 

and what rule reference addresses it? 

a.)    Legal   or b.) Illegal 

 

2. Player in possession of the ball with both hands on his stick pushes away the defender’s 

crosse. Is this legal by rule?  

a.) Legal   or b.) illegal 

 

3. Blue has 1 player in the penalty box. Blue in possession takes a shot and just as goalie 

makes a save the horn goes off signifying end of the period. But hold on, we have with a 

flag down because White was offsides. So, now what do you do and what rule(s) help 

you to implement the following status of the ball? Select from the following 

possibilities: 

 

a.) Because White goalie was in possession with a man down, White retains 

possession to begin the next quarter. 

b.) Faceoff because now both teams will be down a man at the beginning of the next 

period. 

c.) Because there is now a player on each team in the penalty box, White serves full-

time 30 seconds. 

d.) White serves releasable 30 second technical and BLUE retains possession to 

begin the next period, because “The flag denotes ______________. 

 

4. Flag is down for a slash on White, Blue takes a shot which rebounds off goal post and 

lands inside the crease. Without touching the goalie’s stick, the shooting attackman 

clamps the ball inside the crease. In desperation, White defensemen pushed Blue 

attackman in the crease while the ball was loose. What is your ruling? 

a.) Because attackman was pushed into the crease, play allowed to    

continue. 

b.) Play I stopped when Blue is pushed in the crease and because it is a loose ball 

foul, only the slash is administered. 



 

 

c.) Both the slash penalty and ush are served because once the flag is down, it is 

considered the offended team which was in possession shall now be entitled to 

possession, so both fouls are served. 

d.) As soon as White goalie makes contact with Blue attackman’s stick, you have 

interference with the goalie and play is terminated. 

 

 

5.) Goalie traps a loose ball OUTSIDE the crease.  Before scooping or raking back into 

the crease, with his crosse covering the ball he looks to his right, then looks to his left. 

How much time does the goalie have to play the ball when it is OUTSIDE the crease? 

 

Answers to follow at end of the week. 

Thanks for thinking these through. 

Jim Bateman 

MD State Rules interpreter 

 


