2016 MPSSAA Basketball Rules Quiz #7

A-1 and B-1 foul one another at approximately the same time. The contact occurred
during a live ball. Is this a double personal foul or a double technical foul?

A-1 and B-1 foul one another at approximately the same time. The contact occurred
during a dead ball. The lead official rules a double technical foul on A-1 and B-1.

True or False?

While A-1 is dribbling the ball on the perimeter, A-3 and B-3 foul each other in the low
post at approximately the same time. The lead official rules a double personal foul on
A-3 and B-3. After the ruling, A-3 and B-3 taunt one another at the same time. The lead
official rules a double technical foul on A-3 and B-3. The result is A-3 will receive 2
personal fouls, B-3 will receive 2 personal fouls, and both teams will receive 2 team
fouls. The game resumes from the point of interruption with Team A having possession
of the ball where A-1 was dribbling on the perimeter. True or False?

A-1 drives for the basket then jumps and releases a shot at the basket. Contact occurs
between A-1 and B-1. The center official rules a “charge” and the lead official rules a
“block”. The ball goes into the basket. What is the correct way to handle this situation?
The dribbling and traveling rules are not in effect for the jump ball, throw-in, or free
throw situations. True or False?

Teaching Points:
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Identify match-ups in the post.

Try to call the first foul in the post.

Review penalties.

Know the point of interruption after double fouls and correctable error situations.

Let the lead official adjudicate block/charge plays going to the basket. If the contact is
substantial and the lead has “no whistle”, then the trail or center official will have a
cadence whistle and make the ruling.

Answers:

PwnNnpeE

Double personal foul; Case Book 4.19.8, Situation A.

True; Case Book 4.19.8, Situation A.

True; Case Book 4.19.8, Situation B.

Basket counts, double foul on A-1 and B-1. Team B is entitled to run the end line; Case
Book 4.19.8, Situation.

True; Rule 6-1-1.



