2019-20 MPSSAA Basketball Quiz #9

Questions:

1. A-3 throws a pass to A-2 that is not caught. The ball then bounces off of the floor and goes in
the basket. Does the basket count? Yes or No?

2. In question #1, if the game clock horn sounded, how would the goal count?
3. In question #1, if the shot clock horn sounded, how would the goal count?

4. A-1 and B-1 taunt one another simultaneously as A-3 is dribbling the ball in their back court.
Team A will receive the ball in their back court at the point of interruption. True or False?

5. In question #4, will Team A receive a new 10-second count. Yes or No?
6. In question # 4, will the shot clock be reset? Yes or No?

7. While A-5 is shooting the second of two free throws, the ball lodges in the ring. What is the
correct way to handle this situation?

8. A-1is fouled by B-5 on a lay-up. While the ball is in the cylinder, A-3 touches the ball. The
center official rules offensive basket interference and awards A-1 two shots. True or False?

9. While A-1 is dribbling the ball in their back court the ball is intentionally kicked by B-1. Team
A will receive a new 10-second count. Yes or No?

10. There are no successive time-outs at the end of regulation play or at the expiration of any
overtime period. True or False?

Teaching Points:

1. Be ready for the unexpected.

2. Know your clock(s).

3. Review penalties.

4. Read five Case Book plays every day.

5. Have your chin raised with your eyes up for “above the ring play”.




Answers:

. Yes; Case Book 5.1.1, Situation A.

. No; Case Book 5.1.1, Situation B

. No; Case Book 5.1.1, Situation B.

. True; Rule 4-36-1.

. Yes; Rule 9-8.

. No; Rule 2-11-6 (a.). NCAA.

. The game will continue with the alternating possession arrow; Rule 6-4-3 (d.).
. True; Case Book 9.11.2, Situation E.
. 'Yes; Rule 9-8.

10. True; Rule 5-11-7.
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