
2018-19 MPSSAA Basketball Quiz #20 

Questions: 
 

1. A-1 is attempting the second of his/her two free throws.  Prior to A-1 releasing the ball, A-4 
pushes B-4. The center official rules a “team control foul” on A-4.  A-1 will shoot their second 
free throw with the lane cleared.  Team B will then receive the ball out of bounds at the spot of 
the team control foul.  True or False? 
 
2. Teammates A-1 and A-2 may not occupy adjacent positions around the center circle if an 
opponent indicates a desire for one of these positions.  True or False? 
 
3. A-1 commits a player control foul on B-1.  In disgust, A-1 throws the ball at B-1.  The trail 
official verbally warns A-1.  True or False? 
 
4. While B-1 is shooting a free throw, Team A’s bench tries to distract B-1.  B-1 misses the free 
throw and the center official awards B-1 a substitute free throw for the violation on Team A’s 
bench.  True or False? 
 
5. While shooting a three-point shot, A-1 is fouled and injured on the play. The try for goal is 
unsuccessful and A-1 is unable to shoot his/her free throws.  The Head Coach of Team B will 
now choose one of the four remaining Team A players on the floor to shoot the free throws for 
A-1.  True or False? 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Answers: 

 
1. True; Rule 7-5-3 & 4 (a.). 
2. True; Rule 6-3-3. 
3. False; Rule 10-4-6 (c.). 
4. True; Rule 9-1-3 (c.). 
5. False; Rule 8-2 

 


