
2018-19 MPSSAA Basketball Quiz #19 

Questions: 
1. A-1 scores on a lay-up and is granted a time-out. After the time-out, Team B has all five 
players out of bounds for the throw-in.  Is this legal, yes or no? 
 
2. A-1 attempts a lay-up, is fouled by B-1 and the try is successful.  B-1 pushes A-1 to the floor, 
while A-3 and B-3 punch one another.  Which of the following are correct? 
     a. The goal will count. 
     b. A-1 will shoot one free throw for the personal foul on B-1. 
     c. A-3 and B-3 are disqualified. 
     d. Team A will shoot two free throws and the game will continue with Team A receiving the       

         ball at the division line away from the table. 
     e. All of the above. 
 
3. Inbounder A-1 throws the ball to A-2 who legally touches the ball in the back court. Which of 
the following shall start? 
     a. The game clock. 
     b. The shot clock. 
     c. The 10-second count. 
     d. a. and b. 
 
4. The basket consists of the following: 
     a. Ring. 
     b. Flange. 
     c. Braces. 
     d. Net. 
     e. Backboard. 
     f. a., b., c., and d.. 
 
5. While A-1 is shooting their second free throw, B-3 violates along the lane, and A-1 misses the 
entire ring with their shot. The center official rules a double violation and resumes play with the 
alternating possession arrow.  True or False? 
 
 

Answers: 

1. Yes; Rule 7-5-7 (a.). 
2. e.; Rule 8-6-2. 
3. d. ; Rule 5-9-4, MPSSAA shot clock rule as well. 
4. F. ; Rule 1-10-1. 
5. True; Rule 9-1, Penalties 3 and 4. 
 


