
2016 MPSSAA Basketball Quiz #15 

 

1. Following a goal by A-1, the ball is inadvertently deflected under the bleachers. When 
does the throw-in begin and when does the ball become alive? 

2. Team A is awarded an alternating possession (A.P.) throw-in.  A-1’s inbound pass is 
intentionally kicked by B-1.  Does Team A retain the A.P. arrow?   Yes or No? 

3. Team A is not in the bonus when B-1 pushes A-1.  The spot of the foul is the nearest 
sideline.   To inbound the ball, A-3 jumps into the air over the designated spot and passes 
the ball inbounds.  Is this legal?  Yes or No? 

4. A-1 receives a pass and establishes his/her right foot as the pivot foot.  While faking a 
pass, A-1 lifts the pivot foot and stands on the left foot alone while undecided as to what 
to do.  Has A-1 traveled in this situation?  Yes or No? 

5. A-1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control.  A-1 is in a position either on 
his/her back or stomach.  From this position can A-1 roll over?  Yes or No? 

 

Answers: 

1. The trail official should stop the clock. The throw-in begins and the ball becomes alive 
when it is at the disposal of Team B; Case Book 4.42.3 (a.). 

2. Yes; Case Book 4.42.5, Situation. 
3. Yes; Case Book 4.42.6. 
4. No; Case Book 4.44.3, Situation B.  
5. No; Case Book 4.44.5, Situation B. 

 

Teaching Points: 

1. Review when the ball becomes alive. 
2. Review when the ball is at the disposal of a player. 
3. Put the ball in the correct throw-in spot after a violation or foul. 
4. Make sure when adjudicating a traveling violation, that it is an infraction and not 

something that is out of the ordinary and legal by rule. 
5. Read five Case Book plays every day.  


