MPSSAA 2015 Volleyball Quiz 4

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/GJ75VSH



There will be approximately 5 quizzes this season. To work state playoffs you must
complete one of the five. Submit your answers via survey monkey. There is no specified
passing grade. The point is to engage with the scenarios, determine a response, and
submit your answer. Feel free to consult the rulebook, casebook, or official’s manual.
Compare your answers to those provided at the end of the quiz period and note how you
compare to your colleagues

As with most exams, S refers to the serving team and R to the receiving team. Positions
are designated using the standard numbering scheme:

— 1 =Right Back

— 2 =Right Front
— 3 =Middle Front
— 4 = Left Front

— 5= Left Back

— 6 = Middle Back

In this system R6 is the middle back player on the receiving team. S1 is the serving team’s
server.

Alternatively, players may be designated by their uniform number and teams by A and B
when the serving or receiving status does not affect the scenario.



1. What is your name? What Board(s) do you work for?



2. Team A has a defensive specialist, #3, starting in position 5. When #3 rotates to the
front row, a middle hitter, #13, substitutes for player #3. When player #13 rotates to
serve, a serving specialist, #5, substitutes in for #13. After #5’s term of service ends,
player #3 enters the substitution zone to substitute for #5.

a. The R2 should authorize this substitution.

b. The R2 should deny this substitution because a third substitution is not allowed
into the same position.

c. The R2 should not have allowed #5 to substitute for # 13 because a third player is
not allowed in the same position.



Answer: a

Although 91% got this correct, a referee working a state JV match disallowed the sub
and prohibited #3 from re-entering the game. The team lost and the coach was
naturally angry. | was contacted by the state tournament director.

My advice to the coach was to request a rule review timeout under rule 11-3.

Read rule 10 completely. Nothing prohibits three or more players occupying the same
position in the serving order. As a result, this situation is legal.



3. Before the start of a regular season match, the coach for the visiting team expresses
concern that the game ball on the score table is a Molten J2, not a Molten IV58L Super
Touch. The coach believes the Super Touch is required.
a. The coach is correct. The host school must supply a Molten Super Touch.
b. The coach is not quite correct. For regular season matches, the host is only
required to supply a ball meeting the specifications of rule 3-2. However, once Region

and State playoffs start, the State Volleyball Committee requires the Molten IV58L Super
Touch for these matches. To prepare, the use of the Molten IV58L Super Touch is highly

recommended during the regular season.



Answer: b

For regular season matches, the host is only required to supply a ball meeting the
specifications of rule 3-2.

ART. 1... The volleyball shall be spherical with a laceless molded cover of 12 or more panels of genuine or simulated smooth leather (not
suede). All panels of the ball shall be solid white or a maximum combination of three colors (with each panel being a solid color) and of which at
least one-third of the panels shall be solid white. It shall measure at least 25 inches but no more than 27 inches in circumference, with a weight
of 9-10 ounces when inflated with 4.3 - 4.6 pounds per square inch of air pressure

ART. 2. .. The home team shall provide competition volleyballs.
ART. 3. .. The volleyball shall include the NFHS Authenticating Mark. The mark can be displayed in either format (see "Figure" above).
A current list of NFHS authenticated products can be found at www.nfhs.org, Authenticating Mark.

However, once Region and State playoffs start, the State Volleyball Committee requires
the Molten IV58L Super Touch for these matches. To prepare, the use of the Molten
IV58L Super Touch is highly recommended during the regular season.

Read the state tournament playoff bulletin at:
http://www.mpssaa.org/assets/1/6/VB Bulletin 15.pdf




4. The team A libero is in the front zone between the center line and the attack line.
While the ball is completely below the height of the net, the libero sets the ball with
finger action to a teammate in the left front position near the net. While the ball is
completely above the height of the net, the left front spikes the ball to the floor of team
B. The R1 should:

a. Signal a point for Team A and display signal 13 for ball inbounds.
b. Signal a point for team B and display signal 8 for illegal attack.
c. Signal a point for team B and display signal 2 for line violation.



Answer: b

88% Answered this question correctly. 10% did not know this rule. | recently
called this fault (very late in the season) and the offending team did not know it
either, claiming they have been doing it all season.

Rule 9-5-6
ART.6...Alibero shall not:

a. Complete an attack from anywhere if, at the moment of contact, the ball is entirely above the height of
the net;

b. Set the ball using overhand finger action while on or in front of the attack line extended, resulting in a
completed attack above the height of the net;

c. Block or attempt to block;
d. Rotate to the front row;

Note that on page 85 of the officials manual, signal 8 says this fault is credited to the
libero. To signify this, after performing signal 8, point to the libero with an open hand.



5. The team A libero is in the front zone between the center line and the attack line.
While the ball is completely below the height of the net, the libero sets the ball with
finger action to a teammate in the left back position near the attack line. While the ball
is completely above the height of the net, but while starting her jump completely
behind the attack line, the left back spikes the ball to the floor of team B. The R1
should:

a. Signal a point for Team A and display signal 13 for ball inbounds.
b. Signal a point for team B and display signal 8 for illegal attack.
c. Signal a point for team B and display signal 2 for line violation.



Answer: b

69% answered this question correctly. 29% did not understand this rule. Note that
only the height of the ball, not the position of the attacker is specified in the fault.

Rule 9-5-6
ART.6...Alibero shall not:

a. Complete an attack from anywhere if, at the moment of contact, the ball is entirely above the height of
the net;

b. Set the ball using overhand finger action while on or in front of the attack line extended, resulting in a
completed attack above the height of the net;

c. Block or attempt to block;
d. Rotate to the front row;



6. The team A libero is in the front zone between the center line and the attack line.
While the ball is completely below the height of the net, the libero sets the ball
with finger action to a teammate in the left front position near the net. While the
ball is completely above the height of the net, the left front swings and completely
misses the ball. The ball’s trajectory causes it to hit the team B blocker and fall to
the floor of team B. The R1 should:

a. Signal a point for Team A and display signal 13 for ball inbounds.
b. Signal a point for team B and display signal 8 for illegal attack.
c. Signal a point for team B and display signal 2 for line violation.



Answer: a

73% answered this question correctly. 26% did not understand this rule. Note only
the height of the ball when the libero sets it matters in determining this fault.
Although setting with finger action in the front zone, that set does not result in a
completed attack so condition b. of 9-5-6 does not apply.

Rule 9-5-6
ART.6...Alibero shall not:

a. Complete an attack from anywhere if, at the moment of contact, the ball is entirely above the height of
the net;

b. Set the ball using overhand finger action while on or in front of the attack line extended, resulting in a
completed attack above the height of the net;

c. Block or attempt to block;
d. Rotate to the front row;



7. The setter for team A sets the ball to the libero in back zone (behind the attack line).
The libero jumps and attacks the ball while it is completely above the height of the net.
The ball falls to the court of team B. The R1 should:

a. Signal a point for Team A and display signal 13 for ball inbounds.
b. Signal a point for team B and display signal 8 for illegal attack.
c. Signal a point for team B and display signal 2 for line violation.



Answer: b

91% answered this question correctly.

Rule 9-5-6
ART.6...Alibero shall not:

a. Complete an attack from anywhere if, at the moment of contact, the ball is entirely above the height of
the net;

b. Set the ball using overhand finger action while on or in front of the attack line extended, resulting in a
completed attack above the height of the net;

c. Block or attempt to block;
d. Rotate to the front row;



8. There is a fabric partition retracted near the ceiling. It is directly over the net. After
the second contact from team A, the ball strikes the retracted partition and falls
near the net but completely on team A’s side. A team B blocker reaches over the
net and touches the ball causing it to fall to team A’s court. The R1 should:

a. Signal a point for Team B and display signal 13 for ball inbounds.

b. Signal a point for Team A and display signal 8 for illegal attack.

c. Signal a point for Team A and display signal 5 for reaching over the net.
d. Signal a point for Team A and display signal 9 for illegal block.



Answer: c is the best answer (but a case could be made for a) This actually happened
near the end of the season and | was not given enough information either.

Two rules must be considered, 9-6-3 and 9-6-4. If you consider the team B’s contact to
be an attack, it is always illegal. 86% selected this choice. If you consider the contact to
be a block, it might be legal (as answered by 10%), as long as you are sure no team A
player could make a play on the ball. For a ball falling from the ceiling it is unlikely (but
not impossible) that no one will be in position.

ART. 3... A player shall not contact a ball which is completely on the opponent's side of the net unless the contact is a legal block.
ART. 4. .. Blocking a ball which is entirely on the opponent's side of the net is permitted when the opposing team has had an
opportunity to complete its attack. The attack is considered complete when the:

a. Attacking team has completed its three allowable hits;

b. Attacking team has had the opportunity to complete the attack or, in the referee's judgment, directs the ball toward the
opponent's court;

c. Ball is falling near the net and, in the referee's judgment, no legal member of the attacking team could make a play on the ball.

Rule 9-5-1 defines a block and an attack:

Block — the action of a player(s) close to the net that deflects the ball coming from the opponent by reaching higher than the top of
the net at the moment of contact. A block may involve wrist action provided there is no prolonged contact.

Attack — Any action other than a block or a serve that directs the ball toward the opponent's court. A team's third hit is always
considered an attack. A completed attack occurs the instant the ball completely crosses the vertical plane of the net, or is legally
contacted.



9. There is a fabric partition retracted near the ceiling. It is directly over the net. After
the second contact from team A, the ball strikes the retracted partition and falls
directly over the net. A team B blocker reaches up and touches the ball causing it to fall
to team A’s court. The R1 should:

a.

Signal a point for Team B and display signal 13 for ball inbounds.

b. Signal a point for Team B and display signal 14 for ball out of bounds.
c. Signal a point for Team A and display signal 8 for illegal attack.

d.

e. Signal a point for Team A and display signal 9 for illegal block.

Signal a point for Team A and display signal 5 for reaching over the net.



Answer: b

While virtually everyone recognized team B wins the rally, almost half make the wrong
signal. See rule 9-3-3. The ball is dead the instant it is legally touched by the team B
blocker. The signal you perform is based on that event, not the ball falling to the floor
after it is already dead.

ART. 3 ... Alive ball becomes dead when:

a. The ball touches the net antennas or does not pass entirely between the net antennas and passes
completely beyond the plane of the center line extension;

b. The ball lands out of bounds; (See 2-3-1)

c. The ball contacts the ceiling or an overhead obstruction and is not legally played next by the offending
team;

d. The ball contacts the ceiling or an overhead obstruction after the third hit;

e. The ball contacts a wall or ceiling obstruction which is over a nonplayable area;
f. The ball becomes motionless in the net or on an overhead obstruction;

g. The ball touches the floor;

h. The ball passes completely under the net;

i. The ball contacts a non-team member in a playable area;



10. Tonight is senior night. Team A has 5 seniors . After the warmup is complete, the
senior night tributes and presentations commence and continue for over 15 minutes.
The team B coach requests 4 minutes to re-warmup his team that has been sitting
respectfully during the senior night activities for team A. The officials should:

a. Deny the request for additional warmup and direct both teams to the court to

begin the match.
b.  Authorize 4 minutes using both sides of the court for team B, but no warmup
for team A since their senior night activities caused the delay.

c.  Authorize 4 minutes using both sides of the court for both teams, serving
team first.



Best answer: ¢

This situation happened in a Baltimore private school boy’s match using NFHS rules.
The rule book does not specify the warmup period, only that it will be afforded to both
teams.

ART.4... Atimed warm-up period shall be afforded each team.

Judgement must be applied. The referees responding to the quiz were perfectly split
on the question.

How safe is the position that a team should warmup for 30 minutes, sit for 15, and then
immediately stand up and play competitive volleyball. If a player pulled a hamstring on
the first rally’s attack, how would you feel? Did you afford each team the ability to
warmup as required? Could your actions be seen as contributing to this injury?



