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MPSSAA 2015 Volleyball Quiz 2

Submit answers on Survey Monkey at
https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/SL65HDC



There will be approximately 5 quizzes this season. To work state playoffs you must
complete one of the five. Submit your answers via survey monkey. There is no specified
passing grade. The point is to engage with the scenarios, determine a response, and
submit your answer. Feel free to consult the rulebook, casebook, or official’s manual.
Compare your answers to those provided at the end of the quiz period and note how you
compare to your colleagues

As with most exams, S refers to the serving team and R to the receiving team. Positions
are designated using the standard numbering scheme:

— 1 =Right Back

— 2 =Right Front
— 3 =Middle Front
— 4 = Left Front

— 5= Left Back

— 6 = Middle Back

In this system R6 is the middle back player on the receiving team. S1 is the serving team’s
server.

Alternatively, players may be designated by their uniform number and teams by A and B
when the serving or receiving status does not affect the scenario.
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1. What is your name? What Board(s) do you work for?
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2. The below uniform will be a compliant solid jersey in 2016.

a. true
b. false




Answer: b. False

This jersey clearly has a pattern. 40% of the responses thought the jersey was solid. Solid
means no pattern.

NOTE: Beginning July 1, 2016, the libero shall wear a uniform top that is immediately
recognized from all angles as being in clear contrast to and distinct from the other members
of the team. The libero and/or his/her teammates shall wear a solid-colored uniform

top. Regarding the solid-colored top:

a. The solid-colored uniform top shall clearly contrast from the predominant color(s) of the
teammates’ uniform top. Predominant color(s) is the color(s) appearing on approximately
half of the uniform.

b. Sleeves shall be the same color as the body of the uniform top.

c. Piping/trim not exceeding 1 inch in total at its widest point may be placed along the seams
and may be a different color(s) than the uniform top.

d. Lettering and collars may be different color(s) than the uniform top.

e. A single school name, mascot and/or player’s name may be placed on the body of the
uniform top, but shall not disrupt the integrity of the solid-color uniform top. Designs are not
permitted. A single mascot reference and/or school name may be placed on the sleeve(s),
not to exceed either 4 by 4 inches or 3 by 5 inches.

f. Numbers shall be a contrasting color to the uniform top and meet all other specifications in
Rule 4-2-4.



3. An official has some emergency projects at work requiring his attention. Itis
acceptable to make or receive a phone call in the interval between sets to attend to
these projects.

a. true
b. false
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Answer: b. False
Thankfully only 6 of the 103 responses said true — yet this happened this season.

No debate here. Sports officiating requires a high degree of professionalism. If you cannot
focus on the match with your complete attention, you should not be working the match.

Referees have responsibilities between sets. The phone call distracts from your ability to do
the job for which you contracted and for which you are getting paid.

Would you allow a scorer or assistant scorer to take a call, text, or check facebook between
sets? Why the double standard? The scorer and assistant scorer are volunteers!

The Professional Association of Volleyball Officials is dedicated to improving the quality of
volleyball officiating for all rules codes and skill levels. PAVO strives to increase the number of
competent officials through education and mentoring and promotes involvement in the
governing bodies of other volleyball officiating groups. They have established a set of critical
errors for volleyball officials. During observations, violating any of these critical errors are
grounds for failure. The critical errors list is on the next slide. Do not commit critical errors.
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USAV/PAVO RATING SHEET
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Conduct such as, but not limited to:

Making derogatory remarks to coaches, players, or spectators.
Engaging in interactions with spectators.

Displaying unsupportive attitude regarding the decisions or performance of other

officials during any portion of the tournament where ratings take place.
Using alcohol or illegal drugs during the rating session.

Making racial slurs.

Making sexual remarks.

Fraternizing with players, coaches, or spectators while in uniform during the rating

session.

Showing favoritism toward a team.

Completely losing control of team conduct during a match.
Following an incorrect protest procedure.

Use of cell phones or other communication devices while officiating.
Other unprofessional or unethical conduct.




4. An official accepted a match at a local high school for Tuesday night next week.
Hoping that he will get a college assignment on that same night via a different assigning
software system, the official does not block next Tuesday. His hope is fulfilled and he
receives the assignment for the college match. It is acceptable to turnback the high
school match because it is important to work the higher level match to advance his
officiating skills.

a. true
b. false
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Answer: b. False

Only 6 of the 103 responses said true.

The Professional Association of Volleyball Officials (PAVO) publishes a Code of Ethical
and Professional Conduct. Every official should read it. It is available at:

https://pavo.org/Portals/0/docs/Code cond 14.pdf

2.6 Honoring Commitments

When officials accept assignments or contracts to officiate. they do not cancel those commitments in order to accept
other commitments that pay more money or have more prestige. Only honest. legitimate reasons or emergencies

cause officials to cancel commitments. and these are the reasons officials provide to the contracting entity when they
need to rescind their availability.



5. An experienced official has known his association assignor for several years. This
season he has worked several matches during the regular season with the assignor and
believes he has done a good job and earned her confidence. With playoffs approaching,
it is proper for this referee to contact the assignor and remind her that he lives near one
of the schools likely to be hosting a quarterfinal match and would be a good fit for the
R1 position.

a. true
b. false
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Answer: b. False

Only 6 of the 103 responses said true.

The Professional Association of Volleyball Officials (PAVO) publishes a Code of Ethical
and Professional Conduct. Every official should read it. It is available at:

https://pavo.org/Portals/0/docs/Code cond 14.pdf

2.8 Solicitation

Officials inform hiring entities of their availability, interest. and qualifications and provide further information to

those entities if requested. Officials do not market. publicize. or promote their services. nor do they solicit or initiate
assignments or contracts.



6. After completing an attack near the antennae, the left front for team A lands
awkwardly, losing her balance and falling toward the centerline. She ultimately falls to
the floor, landing on the team B side of the net in the area between the sideline and the
pole/referee stand. The left front does not touch the net or the opponent’s court. A
fault should be called:
a. Immediately, it is always a fault to touch the floor on the opponent’s side of the
net.

b. Only if the left front interferes with play by the opponents near where she lands.
c. Never, it is not a fault to touch the court anywhere outside the sideline.
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Answer: b
Only 67% understood this rule (9-5-8) despite the casebook situations accompanying it.

9-5-8 A player may cross the extension of the center line outside the court at any time provided
he/she does not interfere with play by the opposing team.

9.5.8 SITUATION A:

A player on Team S spikes the ball. The player's momentum causes the player to: (a) cross the center-line
extension outside the court, but inside the net standard; (b) cross the center line inside the court after the
first referee has blown the spiked ball dead; (c) cross the center-line extension outside the court, but the
player interferes with a blocker attempting to dig the ball.

RULING: (a) and (b) legal, (c) illegal, center line violation.

COMMENT: A player may cross the extension of the center line outside the court at any time provided he/she
does not interfere with play by the opposing team.

9.5.8 SITUATION B:

LF on Team S steps completely across the out-of-bounds extension of the center line: (a) to hit the ball, which
has not completely crossed the vertical plane of the net extended, to teammates; (b) as a result of

momentum from the play of the ball on Team S's side of the center line; (c) in order to get out of the way of a
play by a teammate.

RULING: (a), (b) and (c) legal.

COMMENT: Any player may cross the extension of the center line outside the court, provided he/she does not
interfere with the opposing team, and the ball has not completely crossed the vertical plane of the net.



7. During the pre-match warmup period, while the home team has exclusive use of the
court and net, the visitors are running a passing drill in the space behind their bench in
front of the bleachers. The referees immediately stop this warmup activity because
there can be no ball handling by a team while the opponents have use of the court.

a. Correct procedure
b. Incorrect procedure



Answer: b

| can’t give you a reference because nothing stops this activity.

Note that USAV Volleyball requires the team not using the net to remain in their bench
area. Do not confuse the two rule codes.



8. In the middle of a rally, a play near the net causes the R2 to blow his whistle and
signal reaching over by the blocking team. The R1 agrees with the call and was simply
slow blowing her whistle. The correct action for the R1 is:

a. Accept the call because it was correct. Getting the call right is more
important than who makes the call.

b. Direct a replay. The R2 is not authorized to call reaching over and the
whistle is considered inadvertent.
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Answer: b. 57% selected this answer. That is reason for concern.

The notion that “getting the call right” supersedes responsibilities delineated in rule 5-4-3 and 5-
5-3 is simply false. If you are one of the 43% of the officials who would accept the call, what rule
will you cite when the coach losing the rally requests a rule review stating that reaching over is
not an R2 responsibility? The coach would be correct. Reaching over is not listed in 5-5-3.

Should the R1 accept an R2’s whistle for a catch or double hit? Of course not. Why is reaching
over different?

No one would accept a call from a line judge waving a flag and signaling 4 hits because that is not
a line judge responsibility.

No one would honor a timeout requested by an assistant coach.

The rules delineate responsibilities during play. As principle officials, the R1 and R2 cannot allow
themselves the liberty to violate the rules of the game that we insist other participants follow.
The R2 should only offer discrete assistance on the reaching over play.



9. The coach of Team R, which has used both time-outs in the set, approaches the R2
and asks for a time-out. The R2 knows there are no time-outs left for team R, does not
whistle and tells the coach he/she has no timeouts remaining. The coach returns to the
bench.

a. The R2 takes no additional action.

b. The R2 requests the R1 award an unnecessary delay (YUD for the first delay in

the set) for the brief slowdown in the progress of play.

c. Team R is penalized with a point/loss of rally.
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Answer: either aor b. 16% of the officials selected c which is not what NFHS directed in the
2015-6 interpretations unless the third timeout is granted and the teams report to their bench.

https://www.nfhs.org/sports-resource-content/volleyball-rules-interpretations-2015-16/

SITUATION 5: The coach of Team R, which has used all time-outs, approaches the R2 and wants
to call a time-out. (a) The coach makes the move toward the R2 and the R2 quickly waves the
coach back with no interruption in the progress of the set as the coach immediately returns to
the team bench. (b) The coach moves toward the R2 and requests a time-out. The R2 knows
there are no time-outs, does not whistle and comments to the coach about the certainty of
his/her request and the coach returns to the bench. The R2 has an unnecessary delay for the
brief slowdown in the progress of play. (c) The coach requests a time-out, which is granted, and
the teams report to their bench and the scorer then tells the R2 this is a third time-out. The R2
whistles to end the interruption of the progress of the set and immediately sends the teams to
the court. It is an unnecessary delay but is an immediate administrative red card (loss of
rally/point) as play was significantly delayed.RULING: Correct procedures. COMMENT: There
are a number of situations that result in an unnecessary delay; requesting a third time-out is
but one. If there is no delay, or a brief delay Rule 9-9-1 applies and the first offense is an
administrative yellow card. However, if the coach requests and is initially granted a third or
subsequent time-out, this is a direct loss of rally/point with an administrative red card as all
progress of the set is halted. This is a direct action of the coach of which he/she has full
control. The coach has been informed by the referees of the team’s time-out status as well as
having this responsibility for his/her team. (Rules 9-9-1 and 11-2 Penalty No. 2)



10. The coach for team S submits a lineup for set 2 that lists player #5 as the libero and
also as the first server in position 1. Unfortunately no one notices this administrative
mistake until the R2 is checking lineups at the start of the set. The correct action is:

a. Return the lineup to the coach to fix this mistake. The coach has the option of
having #5 play as the libero or position 1. If the coach choses position 1, a new
libero may be selected.

b. Return the lineup to the coach to fix this mistake. The coach has the option of
having #5 play as the libero or position 1. If the coach choses to have #5 play as
libero, a substitute will be charged for the player in position 1.

c. Return the lineup to the coach to fix this mistake. The coach has the option of
having #5 play as the libero or position 1. If the coach choses to have #5 play as
libero, no substitute will be charged for the player in position 1.

d. Player #5 must play in position 1. No libero is authorized for set 2.

e. Player #5 must play as libero. A substitute will be charged for the player in
position 1.

f. Player #5 must play as libero. No substitute will be charged for the player in
position 1.
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Answer: d. Although this answer was selected by more referees than any other answer, 60% of the
officials selected an incorrect choice. Note that the NFHS answer is different that other rule codes

Casebook 7-1-2 situation C gives you the answer. While you could use this situation as justification to
penalize with a point/loss of rally, that is not the action briefed in the 2015-6 interpreter’s rule clinics. The
best solution is to catch this mistake early by attention to pre-set responsibilities..

*7.1.2 SITUATION C:

Team A’s head coach submitted his/her lineup and listed player No. 10 as the libero, but also listed her as
the center back as a position player. This was not noticed until the second referee was checking lineups
prior to the start of the set. The second referee informed Team A’s head coach that No. 10 must start the set
as the CB and is not eligible to be designated as the libero. Further, due to the inaccurate lineup, no libero
can be designated for this set and Team B receives point and serve. The second referee confirms the score
with the official scorer.

RULING: Correct procedure.

COMMENT: Even if Team A had a legal uniform top to designate No. 10 as a libero and wants her to change
to become the libero for this set, this could not be accepted as the lineup has been submitted and the
deadline for submission has passed. Therefore, no change in the lineup can be accepted, a new libero
cannot be designated for that set and the penalty point and serve awarded to Team B. No. 10 is eligible for
the set as a position player. The scorer should bring such a situation as this to the attention of the second
referee when the lineup is first submitted and recorded to prevent a penalty if the deadline for lineup
submission has not passed. (Rule 7-1-2, Penalty #2)



