
MPSSAA 2015 Volleyball Quiz 1 

Submit answers on Survey Monkey at: 
https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/56Q7ZTD 

 



• There will be approximately 5 quizzes this season.   To work state playoffs you must 
complete one of the five.   Submit your answers via survey monkey.  There is no specified 
passing grade.  The point is to engage with the scenarios, determine a response, and 
submit your answer.  Feel free to consult the rulebook, casebook, or official’s manual.  
Compare your answers to those provided at the end of the quiz period and note how you 
compare to your colleagues 

• As with most exams, S refers to the serving team and R to the receiving team.  Positions 
are designated using the standard numbering scheme: 
– 1 = Right Back 
– 2 = Right Front  
– 3 = Middle Front 
– 4 = Left Front 
– 5 = Left Back 
– 6 = Middle Back 

• In this system R6 is the middle back player on the receiving team.  S1 is the serving team’s 
server. 

• Alternatively, players may be designated by their uniform number and teams by A and B 
when the serving or receiving status does not affect the scenario. 
 



1. What is your name?  What Board(s) do you work for? 

 
 



2.  An unnecessary delay is assessed as an administrative warning to a team when which of 
the following occurs: 

a. A delay is caused by cleaning up water spilled on the court during a timeout. 
b. A team does not return to play when directed to do so by the referees. 
c. A coach request a substitute.  The R2 blows a double whistle.  The coach then 

withdraws the request. 
d. A coach request a timeout.  The R2 blows a double whistle.  The scorer then informs 

the R2 that the team has already used 2 timeouts. 
e. All of the above would result in an unnecessary delay for the first occurrence in the 

set. 
 
Answer e is correct and selected by 88% of the officials responding.   See Rule 9-9-1 on the 
next slide.   If you are worried about the 3rd timeout and the rulebook issues with this year’s 
RUD/YUD changes, see the interpretations from NFHS on the following slides.  Situation 5 
could result in an RUD if the R2 authorizes the timeout and the teams actually report to their 
benches.         

 



9-9-ART. 1 . . . Unnecessary delay results in any action by a team or team member that causes a delay in the 
start or resuming of play within a set. An unnecessary delay includes, but is not limited to: 
a. Delay by a team not being immediately ready to start play when directed by the first referee; 
b. Delay resulting from a substitute attempting to enter or when a player is in the set wearing illegal 
equipment/uniform; 
c. Delay in resuming play due to a coach/captain making excessive requests for the serving order; 
d. Delay by a team in properly completing a substitution(s) or a substitute(s) entering the court before 
authorization by the referee; 
e. An illegal substitute attempting to enter the set; 
f. An illegal replacement attempting to enter the set (illegal alignment once signal for serve is initiated); 
g. A team repeatedly using an improper substitution procedure; 
h. A coach does not make a decision about an injured player within 30 seconds (see 11-4-1); 
i. Delay in returning to play after a time-out, or delay caused by cleaning up liquid or other substance used by a 
team(s) during a time-out; 
j. Team conferring during a time-out at a location other than the team bench or court area; 
k. A team requesting a time-out in a set after it has taken its allotted time-outs; 
l. A libero entering the court outside the libero replacement zone; 
m. Substitution is denied by the second referee after the request has been recognized (whistled) due to being 
illegal; 
n. Improper request for a substitution, time-out or lineup check that is acknowledged (whistled) by the referee. 
 

http://nfhs.arbitersports.com/Front/105401/Rules/Book?rulebookid=6de8d763-2515-4e22-8760-1297f6ed57bc


Volleyball Rules Interpretations - 2015-16 
By NFHS on August 05, 2015volleyballShare 
 
Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only 
source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They 
are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented. 
Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2015 
 
Corrections to Rules Book: (Underlining shows additions; strikethrough shows deletions.) 
Page 16 Rule 4-2-7 PENALTIES #4, For subsequent violations by the same team during 
theset match, a loss…; Page 64 # 6 Net Fault or Net Serve, NOTE: 
The second referees is are not … 
 
Corrections to Case Book and Manual: 
Page 28, 7.1.2 SITUATION B, RULING: (a) and (c) legal; (b) illegal; Page 66, Introductions and 
National Anthem Protocol, (Unless determinded otherwise by the state association); 
Page 47, 11.4.1 SITUATION B, COMMENT: …toss of rally/point. 
Corrections to Preseason Guide: 
Page 10, column 1, paragraph 2, line 5, A ball rolling up a player’s arms – as long as the ball 
does not come to rest – is considered multiple contacts in one act of playing the ball. 

https://www.nfhs.org/sports-resource-content/volleyball-rules-interpretations-2015-16/


 
SITUATION 1: School A has purchased new uniforms with the uniform bottoms consisting of 
solid black spandex. One player has the need to wear solid black shorts (a) in place of the 
spandex, (b) over the spandex shorts. RULING: Both (a) and (b) are legal uniforms. 
COMMENT: Multiple styles of uniform bottoms may be worn by teammates, but all must be 
like-colored. A visible undergarment may be worn under the uniform short, but must be 
unadorned and of a single, solid color similar to the short, black to black in this situation. (4-
2-1b) 
 
SITUATION 2: The second referee has an unnecessary delay, first in set, on Team S for not 
taking the court in a timely fashion following the end of a time-out. The R2 steps to the side 
of the standard of the offending team, whistles, displays a yellow card (chest high), using 
mechanics of Signal #22 for unnecessary delay. The first referee then follows using 
mechanics of Signal #22 displaying a yellow card (chin high) without a whistle as play 
already is stopped by the R2’s whistle. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: The second 
referee may call an unnecessary delay and will whistle the fault. When displaying the card, 
the R2 displays the card chest high and the R1 displays with the card chin high for full 
visibility for both benches and fans. The R2 may inform the coach of the reason for the 
unnecessary delay to avoid a duplication of the same action later in the set as well as the R1 
communicating with the captain when appropriate. (Officials Manual) 



SITUATION 3: The home team submits its lineup and lists a starting number that no team 
member is wearing. This is detected when the R2 is checking the lineup. The coach is 
instructed that a player with a legal number must enter the set as a legal substitute and no 
other penalty is assessed. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: The rules now stipulate 
the proper method to resolve this problem by placing a legal substitute into the set and thus, 
there is no further penalty. The purpose of the rule is to minimize starting a set with a penalty 
point. However, coaches are reminded they are still responsible for submitting accurate 
lineups to avoid such problems. (Rule 7-1-5) 
 
SITUATION 4: The coach of the visiting team submits a lineup and the same player number is 
listed more than once in the lineup. This is detected when the R2 is checking the lineup. The 
coach is instructed that a player with a legal number must enter the set as a legal substitute 
and no other penalty is assessed. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: The rules now 
stipulate the proper method to resolve this problem by placing a legal substitute into the set 
and thus, there is no further penalty. The purpose of the rule is to minimize starting a set with 
a penalty point. However, coaches are reminded they are still responsible for submitting 
accurate lineups to avoid such problems. (Rule 7-1-6) 



SITUATION 5: The coach of Team R, which has used all time-outs, approaches the R2 and 
wants to call a time-out. (a) The coach makes the move toward the R2 and the R2 quickly 
waves the coach back with no interruption in the progress of the set as the coach 
immediately returns to the team bench. (b) The coach moves toward the R2 and requests a 
time-out. The R2 knows there are no time-outs, does not whistle and comments to the coach 
about the certainty of his/her request and the coach returns to the bench. The R2 has an 
unnecessary delay for the brief slowdown in the progress of play. (c) The coach requests a 
time-out, which is granted, and the teams report to their bench and the scorer then tells the 
R2 this is a third time-out. The R2 whistles to end the interruption of the progress of the set 
and immediately sends the teams to the court. It is an unnecessary delay but is an 
immediate administrative red card (loss of rally/point) as play was significantly 
delayed.RULING: Correct procedures. COMMENT: There are a number of situations that 
result in an unnecessary delay; requesting a third time-out is but one. If there is no delay, or 
a brief delay Rule 9-9-1 applies and the first offense is an administrative yellow card. 
However, if the coach requests and is initially granted a third or subsequent time-out, this is 
a direct loss of rally/point with an administrative red card as all progress of the set is halted. 
This is a direct action of the coach of which he/she has full control. The coach has been 
informed by the referees of the team’s time-out status as well as having this responsibility for 
his/her team. (Rules 9-9-1 and 11-2 Penalty No. 2) 



3.  Team A wins the rally.  No player can remember who the next server will be and the 
team stands around looking at each other for a brief time, perhaps 10 seconds.  At this 
point the Team A coach asks the R2 for a lineup check.  While the R2 is conferring with 
the scorer and providing a lineup check, the R1 should administer an unnecessary delay 
warning.   
 a.  True 
 b.  False 
 



This is False.  
35% of the participants responded True.  How can you award an unnecessary delay for a 
request authorized by the rules (Rule 6-4-6) unless the request is excessive (9-9-1)? 
 
 ART. 6 . . . A request for the team serving order may be made by that team's coach or 
 playing captain while the ball is dead.  

 
Three other points.   
Who is the confusion hurting?  Team A just won the rally.  They are only losing their own 
momentum.   
Why is the R1 not sensitive to the R2’s who is responding to the coach?  This is poor 
teamwork.  
Consider becoming a referee who facilitates a match for the good of all participants, 
vice a policeman who seeks to penalize whenever allowed.  The best volleyball referees 
understand that officiating is as much art as science.  
 



4.  In the previous situation, the R2 realizes team A is confused and immediately asks 
the team A coach if a lineup check is needed. 

a.  Correct procedure, good preventative officiating. 
b.  Incorrect procedure, the R2’s action will be perceived as favoritism toward 

 team A. 
 

 
Answer: a.   
74% of officials responded correctly.  For the other 26%, again, consider becoming a 
referee who facilitates a match for the good of all participants.   



5.  A substitute enters the substitution zone with a small towel tucked into the uniform 
waistband.   How does the second referee address that player equipment? 

a. The towel in not illegal and the player may enter the court. 
b. The towel is considered illegal equipment.  An unnecessary delay is assessed and 

the substitution is denied. 
c. The towel is considered illegal equipment.  An unnecessary delay is assessed and 

the substitution is authorized once the towel is removed. 
 

Answer:  a 
76% of officials responded correctly 
Nothing in rule 4 addresses towels, therefore they are not illegal.   If you declare a towel 
illegal, a smart coach will request a timeout for a rule review and you will not be able to show 
the coach anything prohibiting towels.   Don’t make up rules that don’t exist. 



6. When a substitute is requested during a timeout, what is the proper substitution 
procedure? 

a. The substitution takes place immediately without a formal substitution 
procedure. 

b. The substitution takes place at the end of the timeout without a formal 
substitution procedure. 

c. The substitution takes place at the end of the timeout after teams return to 
the court and the normal end of timeout mechanics are complete.  A normal 
substitution procedure is then performed. 
 

Answer: c 
Only 1 referee of 126 taking the quiz missed this.  Thank you! 



7.  The coach submits the lineup for set 3.  You hand the lineup to the scorer who 
quickly records the lineup on the score sheet.  As you check the score sheet while the 
players are huddling before the set, you notice there are two number 6’s on the lineup.  
What do you do? 

a. Tell the coach a substitution will have to be made for one of the two 6’s.  The 
correct player stands at the sub zone and enters when authorized with a normal 
substitute procedure. 

b. Award a point and loss of rally since the coach failed to submit a complete 
accurate numeric lineup to the scorer no later than two minutes after the end 
of the previous set. 

c. Return the lineup sheet to the coach  for correction of this obvious 
typographical error. 

 
Answer: a 
64% answered correctly.  This was covered at the interpreter's clinic.   See situation 4 in 
the NFHS interpretations above. 



8.  The hair devices shown in this photo are illegal. 
 a.  true 
 b.  false 



Answer:  a. 
 
84% of officials taking the quiz believe these hair devices are illegal.   While they are not 
specifically addressed by the rules, the fact that they are not soft (like rubber bands) suggests 
they are a safety hazard.  Think about what might happen if the player fell and bumped her 
head with one of these devices lodging between her head and the floor.   
Rule 4-1-5 
ART. 5 . . . Hair devices made of soft material and no more than 2 inches wide may be worn. 
Bobby pins, flat clips and flat barrettes, unadorned and no longer than 2 inches, are also 
allowed. 
Casebook 4.1.5 SITUATION: 
At the prematch conference, the head coach for Team B requests the R1 to look at the hair 
clips some of the players want to wear during competition and confirm if they may be worn. 
The flat clips, no longer than 2 inches, are (a) orange with a small tiger head painted on the 
clip as well or (b) orange with a small tiger head hot-glued on the flat clip. 
RULING: The R1 rules the flat clips in (a) are legal as the painting and design have not 
changed the flat integrity of the clip and in (b), the clips are illegal as the addition of the tiger 
head raises up above the clip and changes the flat integrity of the clip. 
 



9.  During a match the libero tracker/assistant scorer shall: 
a. Record all substitutions and libero replacements. 
b. Immediately notify the second referee when an illegal libero replacement is 

identified. 
c. Notify the second referee of the status of the libero  (on or off the court) at 

the end of each timeout. 
d. All of the above.  

 
Answer: d 
87% answered correctly.  See rule 5-7-3.  Regarding status of the libero during the 
timeout, the rule actually requires the notification at the beginning of the timeout.  
Choice d is still the best answer – nothing stops the libero tracker from a repeat 
reminder at the end of the timeout just prior to the R2 verification that the libero has 
not been replaced during the timeout. 
 



10. A coach tells you that the player wearing the necklace in the below photo cannot 
remove it for religious reasons. 

a. The player cannot play in the game because jewelry is illegal. 
b. The medallion must be worn under the uniform and taped to the body.. 
c. The player must remove the medallion from the chain and tape it to the body 

beneath the uniform. 
d. The player can play with the medallion as shown. 



The technical answer is b.   
For those choosing c, that is the NCAA rule (NCAA 7-2-1).  While it is probable the better choice and 
should be encouraged with your best possible people skills, you cannot insist the player remove the 
medallion.   Anyone disagreeing with me will have to listen to a long sea story of a young sailor in my 
department many years ago who firmly believed he had to kill another sailor who desecrated his religious 
medallion by moving it from his body while he slept.  As silly as this might seem to many of us, we don’t 
want inject a personal value judgement  and underestimate the passion of another person’s religious 
beliefs.  
 
4-1-ART. 6 . . . Jewelry shall not be worn by players during warm-ups and/or competition. 
a. Medical-alert medals are not considered jewelry and must be taped to the body and the alert may be 
visible. 
b. Religious medals are not considered jewelry and must be worn under the uniform and taped to the 
body. 
4.1.6 SITUATION C: 
A player attempts to enter the set wearing athletic tape over his/her medical-alert medal that is taped to 
the wrist. During the prematch conference, the coach had declared his/her team legal, and the first 
referee did not see the taped medal; however, when the player tried to enter the set, the second referee 
felt the medal should have been taped under the uniform. 
RULING: Incorrect procedure. 
COMMENT: The rule is not specific about where the medal should be taped. The coach is asked to 
demonstrate good judgment when students have special medical needs. Medical alert medals must be 
taped to the body and may be visible. It is important that medical needs can be noticed easily by health-
care professionals. Religious medals shall be taped and worn under the uniform. 
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