
2016 MPSSAA Basketball Quiz #8 

1. A-1 and B-1 foul one another at approximately the same time.  The contact occurred 
during a live ball.  Is this a double personal foul or a double technical foul? 

2. A-1 and B-1 foul one another at approximately the same time.  The contact occurred 
during a dead ball.  The lead official rules a double technical foul on A-1 and B-1.   
True or False? 

3. A-1 is dribbling the ball on the perimeter.  A-3 and B-3 foul each other in the low post at 
approximately the same time.  The lead official rules a double personal foul on A-3 and 
B-3.  After the ruling, A-3 and B-3 taunt one another at the same time. The lead official 
rules a double technical foul on A-3 and B-3.  The result is A-3 will receive 2 personal 
fouls, B-3 will receive 2 personal fouls and each team will receive 2 team fouls. The 
game will continue from the point of interruption with Team A having possession where 
A-1 was dribbling on the perimeter.  True or False?  

4. As A-1 drives for the basket, jumps and releases for a try, contact occurs between A-1 
and B-1.  The center official rules a “charge” and the lead official rules a “block”.  The 
ball goes into the basket.  What is the correct way to handle this situation?  

5. The dribble and traveling rules are not in effect for the jump ball, throw-in, or free throw 
situations.  True or False? 

 

Answers: 

1. Double personal foul; Case Book 4.19.8, Situation A. 
2.  True; Case Book 4.19.8, Situation A. 
3. True; Case Book 4.19.8, Situation B. 
4. Basket counts, double foul on A-1 and B-1. Team B is entitled to run the end line; Case 

Book 4.19.8, Situation.  
5. True; Rule 6-1-1. 

 

Teaching Points: 

1. Identify match-ups in the post. 
2. Try to call the first foul in the post.  
3. Review penalties. 
4. Know the point of interruption after double fouls and correctable error situations.  
5. Let the lead official adjudicate block/charge plays going to the basket.  If the contact is 

substantial and the lead has “no whistle”, then the trail or center official will have a 
cadence whistle and make the ruling. 


