2016 MPSSAA Basketball Quiz #5

1. While dribbling, A-1 comes to a stop and throws the ball against the opponent’s
backboard and recovers the ball. The trail official rules a double dribble.
True or False?

2. While dribbling, A-1 comes to a stop and throws the ball against the center official and
recovers the ball. The center official rules a double dribble. True or False?

3. Team B is wearing jerseys which have a small patch with the number 12 attached to the
upper right front of the jersey. How should you handle this situation?

4. For all free throws, the position of the lead official shall be approximately 4 feet from
the nearer lane line and well off the end line. True or False?

5. While A-3 tries for a 3-point goal, A-2 who is inside the arc touches the ball and the ball
goes into the basket. The center official signals 3 points for Team A. True or False?

Answers:

1. True; 4.15.4, Situation C.

2. True; 4.15, Situation C.

3. Direct technical foul to the Head Coach of Team B and she/he loses their right to the
coaching box; Case Book 3.4.2, Situation A.

4. True; 4.2.3, Free Throws, B. Lead Official.

5. False; Rule 5-2-1.

Teaching Points:

kW

Master definitions.

Know when a dribble begins and ends.

Be aware of uniforms before the game.
Don’t let your “guard down” on free throws.
Be ready for the unusual.



