2016 MPSSAA Basketball Quiz #10

A-1’s try is legally touched by B-3 and the horn sounds to end the period. The ball goes
into the basket. Does the basket count? Yes or No?

While A-1 is dribbling the ball inbounds he/she touches B-1 who is out of bounds. The
trail official “no calls” the play. True or False?

A-1 is dribbling the ball and the ball touches B-1 who is out of bounds. B-1 has caused
the ball to be out of bounds. True or False?

The ball is out of bounds if the ball passes over a rectangular backboard.

True or False?

A-1is dribbling the ball in their front court when the ball momentarily gets away from
him/her. While the dribble is interrupted, A-1 requests a time out. The trail official
denies the request. True or False?

Answers:
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Yes; Rule 6-7 (d.) Exception.
True; Rule 7-1.

True; Rules 7-1-2, 7-2-1.
True; Rule 7-1-2 (b.).

True; Rule 5-8-3 (a.).

Teaching Points:
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Know when a try ends.

Process out of bounds plays.

Know the difference between a rectangular and fan-shaped backboard.
Review the team control rule.

Know the difference between team control and player control.



