
2016  Boys Lacrosse Quiz #2 ‐ Mechanic Memos 

1. This year the NFHS requires the referee to place the ball in the stick and to roll the ball out to 
the front end of the stick to make sure ball is not ensnared with the lip of the stick.  True or 
False? 

 
2. This year, officials should be measuring to make sure ALL shooting strings are within 4 inches of 

the top if the head of the stick.  True or False? 

 
3. When doing an equipment check, the official notices the stick has hanging strings in excess of 2 

inches.  This stick will NOT be considered illegal and will NOT be penalized, but will be treated as 
a “broken” crosse and ask that the crosse be removed until the strings are fixed.  True or False? 

 
4. The only stamp required on the ball is the NOCSAE label.  True or False? 

 
5. To move the game along between quarters, officials should make sure there are 4 balls along 

each sideline, as well as 4 at the scorer’s table. True or False? 

 
6. As part of the new face‐off mechanic this year, officials should use the point of their toe to 

establish a spot, then request both players to come down together.  Make sure that their sticks 
are up to but not touching the line and that everything is to the left of the throat, BEFORE the 
ball is placed between the sticks.  Once the ball is placed, the official places their hand on top of 
both sticks and says “set” before backing out and varying the whistle.  True or False? 

 
7. This year on an offensive turnover within the attack goal area or crease, the defense can re‐start 

within the goal/crease area, but the official should make sure ALL players are a minimum of 5 
yards away prior to putting the ball into play.  True or False? 

 
8. With the new “over and back” rule this year, a team must satisfy the 10‐second count, before 

“over and back” can be called.  True or False? 

 
9. In transition, the trail official in a 2‐man crew has re‐start responsibility in the area all the way 

down to the offensive restraining line.  True or False? 

 
10. As an offensive player in possession comes around the goal, the goal official focuses mainly on 

the player’s feet, while the “off official” that the player is moving away from focuses on high 
hits.  True or False? 

 
11. No matter where the shot is taken from with a 2‐person or 3‐person crew, it is always the 

primary responsibility of the official to remain focused on the shooter.  True or False? 

 
12. When multiple flags occur, the referee need not consult with any other official, but simply make 

the call since he/she is the referee. True or False? 

 
13. During a “play‐on” when the offended team gains possession, the official shall lower the arm 

and announce “play‐on off”.  True or False? 

 



14. At the conclusion of the game and after the official score has been approved and the score book 
signed, it is recommended that all officials immediately leave the field of play and not wait 
around for the teams to shake hands.  True or False? 

 
15. As the trail official advances up the field, he/she should count players forward.  True or False? 

 

16. With the new “over and back” rule, your mechanic should always be quick “play‐on” and re‐start 
regardless of whether all players are 5‐yards away.  True or False? 

 
Technical Foul Administration 

 
17. There are 3 ways to administer penalty enforcement on technical fouls: a. grant possession, b. 

take away possession, or c. when opponent is in possession to administer a 30‐second time 
serving foul.  True or False? 

 
18. Technical fouls are the more serious fouls and should always be enforced regardless of whether 

advantage is gained or not.  True or False? 

 
19. On a “play‐on” where there had already been a count in place, a new count begins when the 

offended team re‐gains possession, whether in the defensive or offensive end.  True or False? 

 

20. This year, with the new “over and back” rule, the shot is always an exception to the rule, unless 
prior to the mid‐line, the shot becomes dead and the last team in possession rakes the ball back 
over the line.    True or False? 

 


